Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. The ending makes or breaks a series. Here are five of my favorite series enders and five of the ones that weren’t so great. Warning: Inevitable spoilers!!! 

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

The Best

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.10.17 PM

1. Immortals Quartet, Tamora Pierce. This is my favorite Pierce series and I just love how open with possibility the ending was. My favorite couple got together, but you know that’s not the end of their story.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.10.47 PM

 

2. His Dark Materials, Philip Pullman. This ending will never not make me cry.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.11.12 PM

 

3. Abhorsen Trilogy, Garth Nix. The reason why I love this ending so much is because of the choice one character makes after centuries of ambiguity.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.11.36 PM

 

4. Seven Realms Series, Cinda Williams Chima. I shipped Han and Raisa so hard, so when everything worked out, I was so freaking happy.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.12.15 PM5. Chaos Walking Trilogy, Patrick Ness. Just as gripping and intense of an ending as I expected from this series.

The Worst

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.12.22 PM

6. Delirium Trilogy, Lauren Oliver. So, so disappointing. This definitely a love/hate case with readers…I’ve seen people who thought the ending was perfect, but the majority seemed to hate it.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.12.51 PM

7. Maze Runner Series, James Dashner. This one is a case where I still recommend the series even though I hated the ending. I felt like it was a huge cop-out relationship-wise and not what I expected. The first two books are so good though, so the series is worth reading.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.13.27 PM

8. Unearthly Trilogy, Cynthia Hand. This mostly has to do with the fact that I was team Christian and anti-cowboy lol. But also I felt there was this huge deus ex machina thing going on that I didn’t like.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.13.52 PM

9. Gemma Doyle Trilogy, Libba Bray. I don’t feel as strongly about this one as I do the others. I will say I haven’t read this in forever so I don’t remember it too well, but I do remember feeling very blah about how it ended. Maybe if I read the whole series again now I would feel differently, but at the time it was a letdown.

Screen Shot 2013-10-06 at 4.14.41 PM

10. Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Ann Brashares. By the end of this series, I felt like I didn’t even know the characters anymore. They were so different and just wrong and I missed the ones I fell in love with in the first book.

 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders

  1. I have actually been avoiding reading the last book in the Sisterhood series. I loved the first two books so much, and by the third, I was really getting disappointed in all the characters. I am not so keen to read the last one, as I do think that everything had changed SO MUCH, and the things I wanted to happen just weren’t happening 😦 I think I may have read somewhere that she’s doing another book, set years after the final one. I wonder what that will be like ….
    My Top Ten post 🙂

  2. I feel like I shouldn’t even start the Unearthly series after seeing the last book on so many lists as disappointing!! SCARED!
    I was so mad at The Death Cure. I wanted answers the whole series and then… NOTHING.

  3. I agree on Boundless. I enjoyed the read, but so much of it just didn’t work. Plus, well… you know I have some serious hate for Tucker. LOL HOWDY DOODY boy. BOOOOO.
    And yeah…. Delirium. 😦 Requiem was such a disappointment.

  4. If you were disappointed by the fourth book in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, I don’t recommend you reading the new book that just came out. It felt so different! But Brashares is the queen of tugging at my heart strings and making me feel for these characters, and she added an unexpected twist at the start of the book…I full on bawled.

  5. Oh my god. We must be book soul sisters! I can not even express how much I am with you on the first four of your list. Especially the first three, they are seriously in my favourite series of all time and when I die I want those books with me! …well that’s a morbid thought.

    I also agree with you on The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants! I was like…who are these people? And Carmen who is the only girl I never really connected with…stayed being a girl I really, really didn’t connect with! I pretend that series is a trilogy haha

  6. Oh, I’ve finished the first three books in the Immortals series and I’m really excited to read the last one! But also a little hesitant because…well, last one! Great list!

  7. I agree with you on Libba Bray. And i haven’t finished the Maze runner or Unearthly yet! So, I’ll have to wait and see what I think on that one. I’ll have to check out some of these series on your list.

Leave a Reply

