Book Review: Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

Title – Author: Unbreakable – Kami Garcia
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: October 1, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – The Legion #1
Format – Source: ARC – Borrowed

Kennedy Waters comes home one night to find her mother murdered. She doesn’t know what’s happening until twins Jared and Lukas Lockhart show up just in time to save her from a malicious spirit. Suddenly Kennedy finds herself in a world where paranormal forces run wild. Jared and Lukas tell Kennedy her mother was a part of an ancient society called the Legion dedicated to protecting the world from a terrible demon. Kennedy has to take her mother’s place and help the other teenagers in the Legion track down a weapon that could turn the tide in the war against the Legion’s ancient enemy.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

The only reason I picked this book up is because I read an article on Buzzfeed that said it would be a good book for fans of Supernatural (which is my current insane obsession). I wanted to read the Beautiful Creatures series first, but ain’t nobody got time for that. I think going into it as a Supernatural fan lessened my ability to really love the story.

The story is there. I enjoyed the mystery of the Legion and Kennedy’s mother’s involvement. I’m a sucker for ancient struggles and the Legion’s past (and its mistakes) are fascinating. There’s plenty of action as Kennedy and her friends race to find a weapon that may help them destroy the demon hunting them.

I liked the dynamic among the teens, too. I’m obviously not a fan of the love triangle between Kennedy and the twins because 1) I’m bored with love triangles and 2) I hate when a girl comes between brothers (or vice versa). But that said, I liked how Jared, Lukas, Alara, Priest, and Kennedy grow to be a family over the course of this book.

So all of that is good, right? Well, my problem comes from the fact that it’s too similar to Supernatural. Anytime anything paranormal was explained, I was all, psshhh I know all this already. There’s even a set of brothers at odds but who still protect each other. It was like reading a less complicated and less emotional version of Supernatural. And why would I do that when I can have the original thing? I see this book going two ways for Supernatural fans: either you’re like me and don’t like that it’s so similar or you like it because it’s similar.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

Unbreakable will appeal to action and paranormal fans alike, but for this Supernatural fan, it wasn’t enough. I might be back, but it’s not a priority.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM5 – flawed but redeemable – Draco Malfoy

Draco-Malfoy-Pictures-draco-malfoy-28309657-634-459

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

  1. See, I’ve never seen Supernatural, but I still feel meh about Unbreakable. I am chalking it up to the love triangle. I am glad you mentioned it because it really was kind of blah and I also dislike when a girl comes between brothers.

    Also I might have cackled over your ain’t nobody got time for that line. CACKLED.

  2. Found your blog while looking to compare my feelings on “Unbreakable” to that of others. New follower – pretty much based solely on your ratings system. It’s hilarious and wonderful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

