Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Was Forced To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Sometimes when someone recommends a book to you or a teacher assigns a reading, it turns out terribly. But other times, the books are hits! Here are ten books that I wouldn’t have picked up on my own, but I ended up enjoying.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.28.45 PM

1. Vampire Academy, Richelle Mead. Betty from Book Rock Betty basically talks about this one nonstop, so you’re pretty much required to read it if you want to be friends with her. I didn’t think I was going to like it, but I ended up enjoying the series and I’m excited for the movie.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.28.50 PM

2. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald. One of my favorite required readings in school.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.29.31 PM

3. A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle. Another required reading, this time in seventh grade. One of the most magical books ever. My roommate bought a boxed set in college and I reread it and it was still just as good as I remembered.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.29.36 PM

4. Catch-22, Joseph Heller. I had to write a critical paper on this one, which wasn’t so fun, but this is just my type of humor. I don’t really like war books so I was surprised when I liked reading this.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.30.12 PM

5. Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card. My roommate took a science fiction literature course in college and this was one of her required reads. She insisted I read it too and I’m so glad I did because I now consider it one of my all-time favorite sci-fi books.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.30.17 PM

6. Vision in White, Nora Roberts. I don’t do romance books, but when my friends and I were making book playlists for each other, this was one friend’s pick so I had to read it. I ended up devouring the whole series. I probably loved it so much because it’s about a group of wedding planners and I’ve always wanted to be a wedding planner. Also, the guys are super hot.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.30.44 PM

7. Anna and the French Kiss, Stephanie Perkins. No one person made me read this one, but practically every blogger loves it and mentions it in TTTs, so I felt like I had to read it to get what everyone was talking about. No surprise here: I fell completely in love with it.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.30.49 PM

8. Looking for Alaska, John Green. A friend in college told me I absolutely had to read a John Green book and that I would love it, so I borrowed LfA from her. She was right; she made a John Green fan out of me.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.32.18 PM

9. The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky. A friend in high school lent this to me. At the time, I didn’t appreciate it as much, but I’ve grown to love it over time. And its movie adaptation is one of my favorites.

Screen Shot 2013-10-13 at 10.33.25 PM

10. Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. That same high school friend also lent me Nick and Norah’s and I loved it.

 

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Was Forced To Read

  1. You’ve got SO many amazing books on your list this week. A good number of those I’ve read be cause of other bloggers. I also really loved the Nora Roberts series. I loved the hot guys and the wedding planning. SO fun. I never had to read The Great Gatsby in school but I read it last year and I wish we would have. It has SO much to say. Anywho… great list!

    ~Sara @ Just Another Story

  2. My hubby talked me into reading Ender’s Game, but I also ended up really enjoying it. I’m super excited to see how the movie turns out! And yay for John Green on your list! I’ve read the first VA book, but thought it was okay and haven’t read on yet. But you’re right, Betty’s love is contagious, as is Judith’s @ Paper Riot … so, you know, I just gotta give book 2 a chance!

  3. I don’t think I would have picked up Vampire Academy on my own either. But my friends kept talking about it and I felt really out of the loop so I tried it and now it’s one of my favourite series! Also I think if I haven’t read The Great Gatsby at school I don’t think I would enjoy it as much. I would miss out on all the symbolism and stuff but because of analysing it at school I really do appreciate it :p

  4. The Perk of Being a Wallflower is one you have to take time with, I bought it as a teenager and really didn’t like it and even now I struggle to appreciate it. Having to read Looking for Alaska though can’t have been any trouble, its a great book.

  5. You’ve mentioned a couple of my all-time favorites here. Anna and Nick & Norah are both incredible. I loved the movie version of Nick & Norah – it’s one of my go-to movies when I’m in a mood – for years before I even realized it was based on a book. I love John Green, but I still haven’t gotten around to reading Looking for Alaska. One of these days…

    My TTT.

  6. Love A Wrinkle in Time. I haven’t read it since grade school but it’s one that made such a deep impression on me, I still remember pretty much all of it. You know, Vampire Academy is on my TBR, but I’m not in any hurry to read it. Yet, it’s made a bunch of lists today and everyone has loved it. Makes me want to read it sooner. 😀 And, I’m actually planning to read Enders Game in two weeks. So excited! Great list! 😀

    My TTT

  7. I really should read the VA series. I keep hearing how great that series is. I’ve heard Betty raving about it as well 🙂

    I never had to read A Wrinkle in Time for school but I did read it on my own and loved it. I thought the whole Wedding Planning business in the Bride Quartet was fun, too, although I still need to read the final book.

  8. Yessss. I’m so glad your friend made you read Looking for Alaska. That’s my favorite book of all-time, and it’s definitely one I force on a lot of people.

  9. I really like your list! Most of these books I either have read because I was forced to or wouldn’t normally read, but kind of want to, because everyone seems to love them. You know what I mean? Like Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist doesn’t sound like my kind of book at all, but people are so excited about it that I feel forced to at least try 🙂 And in the case of Anna and the French Kiss, for example, it was SO worth it!!!

  10. I need to read VA before the movie comes out. I love vampires so I’ll probably like it, but I just never got around to picking up the series. I also want to read Ender’s Game before the movie comes out. And you’re right about Anna and the French Kiss. It is always on everybody’s TTT and I’m missing out. Guess I need to get on that too… So many books to read!!!

  11. Anna and the French Kiss is popping up all over the place! I’m starting to think perhaps the title and cover are misleading. I’d been debating whether to read it, because my knee-jerk reaction was “yuck! Cheesy romance!” But having seen it on so many lists, I’m starting to think I’ve gotta give it a try! Great list!

  12. Great list! After watching the Nick & Nora movie, I thought I’d love the book but not so much! I have yet to read Anna and the French Kiss. It definitely need to pick it up.

  13. I have just been forced into getting a copy of Ender’s Game but have not read it yet, I was told I had to read it as it’s incredible! I’m hoping I love it. I really loved The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and I also thought the movie adaption was done really well. There’s nothing worse than a bad movie adaption of a book you love. I didn’t have to read The Great Gatsby in school but I did buy myself a copy to read before the film came out – I love Baz Luhrman’s films so I had to see it. I ended up really enjoying that book.
    I still need to read The Vampire Academy series, I’ve heard a lot about it but never read any of them. My TTT

Leave a Reply

