Book Review: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Title – Author: The Dream Thieves – Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: September 17, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – The Raven Cycle #2
Format – Source: ARC – Won from Shae Has Left The Room

The ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, and now Blue, Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah have to face all kinds of new mysteries. Ronan is gaining more power over his dreams, a power that attracts dangerous enemies. The Raven Boys aren’t the only ones interested in Cabeswater.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

I loved The Raven Boys and the next book in the Cycle was one of my most anticipated 2013 releases. Good god, this book doesn’t disappoint. IT’S REALLY GOOD, PEOPLE. Basically I feel unable to talk about it logically, so I’m just going to list all the things I loved.

1. RONAN RONAN RONAN. I am so freaking happy Ronan was the focus of The Dream Thieves. I love how harsh he is and I loved getting his back story and all I want is more Ronan.

2. Dream things. So Ronan has this hella cool power where he can take objects out of his dreams (like his badass raven). NBD.

3. Sexual tension. I ship Gansey and Blue hardcore.

4. The Gray Man. This dude is sinister and terrifying and I applaud Maggie Stiefvater for humanizing him. Because I’m telling you…you’ll end up loving him by the end of this novel.

5. Noah and the snow globe. This is one of the cutest scenes ever.

6. Raven Boys, all day, every day. Can I just say again how my favorite part of this series is the friendship between the boys? I love their dynamic so much. They’re a family, they love each other, they save each other.

7. Maggie Stiefvater, goddess of the cliffhanger. As if I needed any more reason to be dying for the next book.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

The Dream Thieves is a fabulous follow-up to The Raven Boys. Seriously, this is a series you don’t want to miss.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM

8 – deserving of a re-read – Fred Weasley

fred

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I had a similarly mind-bent response to this book. I am still thinking about it. I still really just want to read it again, but wish it could be for the first time, every time. Ronan! The Gray Man! Blue and Gansey: the scene where they go for a ride, oh geez! I have already reread that and other scenes throughout that give me ALL THE FEELS! I have many theories and I officially cannot wait for the next book.

  2. YES! Wasn’t this book just so amazing!?! I absolutely loved the focus on Ronan and HOW COOL ARE HIS ABILITIES. Omg. And the story we got with his family as well!
    I looove Gansey and Blue. I cannot wait to see what happens with them in book three. And the Gray Man!!! LOVE him.

Leave a Reply

