Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Character Names I Love

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Character names are super important to me. If I hate a name, it ruins my whole reading experience. Here are ten characters that I think have the best names. This list was pretty tough to make since I’m so picky!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.01.59 AM

1. Park Sheridan from Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I’ve never seen a character named Park before, so I love how unique it is. It helps that I love the character so much too.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.02.09 AM

2. The Darkling from the Shadow and Bone series by Leigh Bardugo. We all know I’m team Darkling, but I love his name because it fits him perfectly: dark and menacing and sexy as hell.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.02.22 AM

3. Karou from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor. Another case where I love the name because it’s unique.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.02.33 AM

4. Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. Somehow this name perfectly captures the character.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.02.43 AM

5. September from The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making series by Catherynne M. Valente. Basically everything about this series is unique and magical and I honestly could’ve picked any of the names since I love them all. But I love the idea that September, who can access fairyland, is named after something ordinary from our world.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.02.56 AM

6. Kialan from The Dalemark Quartet by Diana Wynne Jones. I would seriously consider naming my kid this. I don’t care if it’s a made-up word.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.03.09 AM

7. Stargirl Caraway from Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. Have you ever heard a more whimsical name?

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.03.26 AM

8. Annabel Greene from Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. My favorite name of the Dessen girls.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.03.37 AM

9. Sameth from Lirael/Abhorsen by Garth Nix. I’m not sure why I like this one so much. I think because it’s a different version of a non-fantasy name, so I like the little twist to make it a fantasy name.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 1.03.59 AM

10. Four Eaton from the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. I completely refuse to call him anything other than Four. I like to pretend that his real, much stupider name doesn’t exist. I don’t understand why he would want to be called something that’s a million times less badass than Four.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Character Names I Love

  1. September made my list, too! And I had forgotten Sameth – I do agree, it’s a fun twist on the ‘traditional,’ and everything about that series rocks my face off. Thanks for sharing your picks!

  2. Omg Sameth. I always forget about that series. I read it soooo long ago (like in middle school, I think). It is such a good series!! I should do a reread soon. And I totally agree about Four. It’s so much sexier than his other name. I love the name Annabel! It’s beautiful and always reminds of that Edgar Allen Poe poem, Annabel Lee.

Leave a Reply

