Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Title – Author: Allegiant – Veronica Roth
Publisher: Harper Collins Children’s Books
Release Date: October 22, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – Divergent #3
Format – Source: Hardcover – Bought

With the faction-based society in Tris’s city demolished and violent power struggles ripping the city apart, Tris and Four leave everything they know and head out in the wild to find the answers they desperately need. As new truths come to light and different enemies arise, Tris and Four must decide what they’re willing to sacrifice to end the violence.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

This book has been talked about for so long and there were so many expectations that it’s difficult to decide where to begin. And then all this dramz came out with the release of the book because fans were rabid at a major plot twist. I’ll preface this review by saying that I liked the ending and didn’t react with the same intense hatred that seems to be the most vocal opinion on the Interwebs. Don’t worry: this review will be spoiler-free.

First, the basics: Allegiant has the same fast-paced action I’ve come to expect from this series, with revelations galore and dangerous fight scenes. One major difference is the dual narration between Tris and Four. While this isn’t my favorite narrative technique (especially when the previous two books in the series had a single narrator), it didn’t bother me because I liked the insight into Four’s motives and thoughts. Four is my favorite character of the series, so I enjoyed understanding him better.

I was a bit disappointed with the big reveal of why the factions were created and the purpose of Tris’s city. After all the build-up, it just seemed like a kind of lame explanation. I also don’t quite buy it, but I can’t really put my finger on why I feel this way. Roth uses familiar tropes, like prejudice and using science as a solution that goes horribly wrong, so what happened in the past makes sense and yet I still feel a little unsatisfied with the explanation.

Now onto the big “controversy”: the ending. I actually really liked the ending. I felt that what happened not only made sense in terms of the character, but also in the wider sense of the world this story takes place in. So many people have criticized Mockingjay for the happy ending with Katniss after the brutality of the series as a whole. (Side note: I don’t see Mockingjay‘s ending as a typical happy ending, I see it more as an attempt to move on with life in the only way you can after facing a hopeless and violent situation that you’ll never really leave.) I think Roth did something daring here with her ending based on what I’ve seen from basically every other YA novel out there. She didn’t shy away from making tough choices for her characters.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

Allegiant tied up the series for me in a satisfying way. I understand why people are upset with the ending, but for me, it made sense. I will still be recommending this series to readers.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM

8 – deserving of a re-read – Fred Weasley

fred

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

