Books for the Scare Intolerant

halloween week header

Welcome to Halloween week on Book Revels! I decided to do some Halloween posts for a mini Halloween week to celebrate one of my favorite holidays. There will be several Halloween-themed posts and fun will be had!

I love Halloween…but I hate scary things! I don’t watch scary movies or read scary books because if I do, I have to sleep with all the lights on. So I decided to make a list of some books for people like me: not too scary, but still feels like a Halloween read.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 2.33.51 AM

Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

The Halloween Vibe: ghosts, demons, secret societies

My Review | Goodreads

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 2.38.08 AM

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs 

The Halloween Vibe: creeptacular photos, powers

My Review | Goodreads

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 2.43.16 AM

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

The Halloween Vibe: gothic, sinister manor house, bloody deeds in creepy woods

My Review | Goodreads

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 2.47.28 AM

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

The Halloween Vibe: ghosts, serial killers, Halloween dance

Goodreads

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 2.52.15 AM

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater 

The Halloween Vibe: magic, clairvoyance, spirit roads

My Review | Goodreads

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 2.57.26 AM

The Diviners by Libba Bray

The Halloween Vibe: occult, supernatural powers, serial killers

My Review | Goodreads

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 3.00.16 AM

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman 

The Halloween Vibe: graveyard, ghosts, murder

Goodreads

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 3.03.34 AM

The Passage by Justin Cronin

The Halloween Vibe: vampires

My Review | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Books for the Scare Intolerant

  1. I am just like you. I hate scary things. I pretty much refuse to watch horror movies. Haunted houses terrify me. I did use to go to the haunted corn maze when I lived in the Chicagoland area, but practically peed my pants. But I just finished reading Unbreakable and loved it! It was the perfect Halloween read for me. Creepy but not to scary. I’m also glad to see that Miss Peregrine is on your list. I’ve been wanting to read that book, but wondered if it was too scary for me. Lol. I’m such a child. If you thought it wasn’t too bad, I’ll give it a go. 🙂

  2. I am totally the same way! I can’t do scary things AT ALL. And you’ve named some of my absolute favourite books I’ve read this year – The Graveyard Book, The Diviners, The Raven Boys, and ESPECIALLY Unspoken. That is by far one of the best books I have ever read!

Leave a Reply

