Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Scariest Book Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Yesterday, I brought you some book recommendations for those who don’t like to be scared like me, so obviously I wasn’t looking forward to this week’s TTT post. I’m getting goosebumps just looking at these covers!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

 

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 3.20.35 AM

 

1. It by Stephen King. I’m actually about to throw up looking at this one. True story: as I was editing to make the picture above, I didn’t look directly at the cover. It made it really difficult to do anything. Do you remember how there was this story circulating online about a clown randomly walking around a town in the UK weeks ago? That’s basically my worst nightmare.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 3.27.56 AM

 

2. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs. There’s just something about this cover that really creeps me out. The book itself isn’t scary or creepy, but the cover gets me every time.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 3.35.21 AM

 

3. Night of the Living Dummy, R. L. Stine. Ventriloquist dummies will never not be scary.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 3.40.56 AM

 

4. Krampus: The Yule Lord, Brom. I’m really glad I’m not Santa Claus and I don’t have this guy as an enemy because if I was, I would never leave the North Pole.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 3.44.55 AM

 

5. The Replacement, Brenna Yovanoff. I have no idea what this one is about and I doubt I’ll ever know. But knives hanging over a baby carriage in the fog? Creeeeepy.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 3.56.40 AM

 

6. Anna Dressed in Blood, Kendare Blake. The house is creepy enough, but the most horrifying part is the blood at the bottom of her dress.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 4.02.00 AM

 

7. Ashes, Ilsa J. Bick. The eyes are so scary.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 4.06.06 AM

 

8. Berserk, Tim Lebbon. OMG this cover is the stuff of nightmares. Avert your eyes!

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 4.17.04 AM

 

9. Remember Me, Christopher Pike. I find this one scary because of the trapped feeling it gives me. Also, the blurriness makes it mysteriously scary.

Screen Shot 2013-10-18 at 4.27.38 AM

 

10. The Exorcist, William Peter Blatty. Not going to see the movie, not going to read the book.

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Scariest Book Covers

  1. I think I need to stop browsing this week’s Top Ten Tuesday posts because some of these covers are seriously creepy. I’m going to have nightmares after this!

    Anna Dressed in Blood is on my post, too! I haven’t read it, but I’ve always thought the cover is horrifying.

  2. I almost included “IT” on my list, but I hate clowns so much that I refused to look up the cover. 🙂 Then I decided to go with creepy YA covers for my theme instead so I didn’t give myself nightmares looking up scary covers. Haha.

    My TTT.

  3. Now I wonder how many people went onto Goodreads’ Listopia to get their covers (I did) Basically cos I do not read scary books and wouldn’t know a scary cover unless I googled it.
    We actually have a few in common. The Replacement freaks me out. Like mad and so does Anna dressed in Blood.

  4. Ummmm ALL OF THESE. We actually just had a long text convo about Krampus last night hahahaha. I’ve heard he’s not really that scary but that picture sure is!!!!
    SO glad I’m not terrified of clowns because I just KNEW people would have IT on their lists! 🙂

  5. You know, I don’t know why, but I actually like books that are a little creepy. I hate scary movies, and usually can’t even stand to watch the previews, but books with a little creepiness, I love. Weird, I know. I think the scariest book cover on your list is Berserk. That FREAKS ME OUT! But The Exorcist is freaky, too. Miss Pregerine’s cover always gives me the willies, too. I really want to read that one, but haven’t gotten to it. It’s not really creepy, though? I kind of wish it were.

  6. Oh man I read IT when I was younger and not only did the movie freak me out but some kids told me when I closed my eyes in the shower, the clown would reach out from the drain and grab my ankle! I hate this book!

  7. We have a lot of the same books on our list!! I also cannot believe I forgot to include any Goosebumps covers on mine! Those books always had me nervous as a child, haha. And Christopher Pike! I used to obsessively read his books when I was younger!

  8. Ahh, I hate scary things! That clown cover… I’m going to have nightmares now. Thanks a lot. Lol. I picked Miss Peregrine’s #2 for my list and Anna Dressed in Blood made my list as well. But seriously, these covers are scary. Scariest I’ve seen so far today.

  9. oh, you found some really great covers! I’m a bit freaked now that I’ve looked at them. I’ll admit it I had to scan fast as I went further down the list. I’m happy to see It on a ton of lists because that cover is SO creepy (just created a lego version of it on my blog). Yep, that Goosebumps cover gives me serious chills.

Leave a Reply

