The Book Thief Revisited

I’ve been toying with doing some kind of rereading feature where I write up all my favorite things about my favorite books that I reread all the time, but this year I’ve barely reread anything! When book club had to read The Book Thief, though, I knew it would be a perfect opportunity to try it out. These posts will inevitably be a bit spoilery (nothing too major), so be careful if you haven’t read this book yet!

Favorite Quotes

“In the darkness of my dark-beating heart, I know. He’d have loved it, all right. You see? Even death has a heart.” – Page 242

“He stood waist deep in the water for a few moments longer before climbing out and handing her the book. His pants clung to him, and he did not stop walking. In truth, I think he was afraid. Rudy Steiner was scared of the book thief’s kiss. He must have longed for it so much. He must have loved her so incredibly hard. So hard that he would never ask for her lips again and would go to his grave without them.” – Page 303

“If only she could be so oblivious again, to feel such love without knowing it, mistaking it for laughter and bread with only the scent of jam spread out on top of it.” – Page 358

“At first, Liesel could not talk. Perhaps it was the sudden bumpiness of love she felt for him. Or had she always loved him? It’s likely. Restricted as she was from speaking, she wanted him to kiss her. She wanted him to drag her hand across and pull her over. It didn’t matter where. Her mouth, her neck, her cheek. Her skin was empty for it, waiting.” – Page 518

“*** THE BOOK THIEF – LAST LINE *** I have hated the words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.” – Page 528

“And I’m not too great at that sort of comforting thing, especially when my hands are cold and the bed is warm. I carried him softly through the broken street, with one salty eye and a heavy, deathly heart. With him, I tried a little harder. I watched the contents of his soul for a moment and saw a black-painted boy calling the name Jesse Owens as he ran through an imaginary tape. I saw him hip-deep in some icy water, chasing a book, and I saw a boy lying in bed, imagining how a kiss would taste from his glorious next-door neighbor. He does something to me, that boy. Every time. It’s his only detriment. He steps on my heart. He makes me cry.” – Page 531

Favorite Character

Rudy Steiner – the book thief’s best friend.

As Death says in the last quote I listed, he does something to me, that boy.

Favorite Scene

When Liesel carries buckets of snow inside to make a snowman with Max and her parents.

Why I Love This Book In One Sentence

The Book Thief combines masterful storytelling and writing with unforgettable and heart-breaking characters that you can’t help but fall in love with every time you read it.

9 thoughts on “The Book Thief Revisited

  1. I’m trying to reread this book before the movie comes out, but school is making it hard! I had all these grand plans to reread The Book Thief, The Hunger Games and Catching Fire before the first and last movies come out…but now I’m not so sure.
    That being said, I love this post!

  2. Pingback: Black 'n Write

Leave a Reply

