Book Review: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Title – Author: Something Strange and Deadly – Susan Dennard

Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 24, 2012
Series/Standalone: Series – Something Strange and Deadly #1
Format – Source: Paperback – Bought

In 1876 in Philadelphia, the Dead start rising in a frequency that puts the whole city in danger. The Dead are the least of Eleanor Fitt’s worries, though. Her beloved brother is missing and her mother has spent their family into near ruin. But then one of the Dead delivers a message to Eleanor from her brother. The necromancer who controls the Dead has him, and Eleanor will stop at nothing to save him, even teaming up with the disreputable Spirit-Hunters (which include the devastatingly handsome, yet maddening Daniel Sheridan).

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

I have to admit, I didn’t think this book would be for me. I wouldn’t say zombies aren’t my thing, exactly. I love The Walking Dead (though I’m not caught up so no spoilers!). But usually if I have a choice, I won’t pick a zombie book. Thankfully, this time I didn’t have a choice, because this was Betty‘s book club pick for this month.

Let me start by saying this isn’t a hardcore zombie book. Sure, you might bump into a corpse or two if you head in the direction of the cemetery, but swarms of bodies aren’t devouring horses in the middle of the street and you won’t have to add intestines to your wardrobe.

The meat of the story is in the mystery surrounding the sudden increase in the Dead and Eleanor’s brother’s disappearance. Even though I guessed who the necromancer was almost immediately, I still raced through the story. I just had to see how it all played out. The details are dropped so tantalizingly that you just have to keep reading to find out how all the puzzle pieces fit together.

And Eleanor is steadfast in her dedication to finding out the truth and saving her brother, which I really admire about her. As a lady from a good family, you would think Eleanor would shy away from any responsibility or action. But having managed her family’s finances and as a girl who can’t help but speak her mind, Eleanor isn’t your typical 19th-century lady. I loved how even when she didn’t know what she was doing, she kept going anyways.

Now we get to my favorite part of the novel: the Spirit-Hunters (well, if I’m being honest, one Spirit-Hunter in particular…). There’s Joseph, with his tragic past, overwhelming desire to do good despite everything working against him, and a killer fashion sense. There’s Jie, the girl who has to hide her gender just to be able to go out around town, who can kick any corpse’s butt all day long. Finally…Daniel Sheridan. Ok, bloggers who mentioned him on TTTs and I didn’t understand who you were talking about. I get it now. Daniel is my kind of guy. Gorgeous, smart, protective, and totally worthy of swoons.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

Something Strange and Deadly is an entertaining and promising start to a series I never would’ve thought I’d like. I can’t wait to dive into the next book.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM

7 – really good but missing a little something – George Weasley

george

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Those seems to be pretty close to my feelings too haha. I was surprised I liked it so much because zombies? Nah. But it was so much more than a “zombie book”. I’m definitely anxious to start the next book (yeah, still haven’t read it yet even though I’ve been meaning to), especially after the way SSaD ended!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

