Top Ten Tuesday: Top [Five] Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Sometimes you see a cover in a bookstore and think…what we’re they thinking? I know I’ve had this happen to me plenty of times, but for some reason I could only come up with five examples, so here’s my abbreviated post for this week.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-11-10 at 8.36.15 PMScreen Shot 2013-11-10 at 8.41.02 PMScreen Shot 2013-11-10 at 8.43.56 PMScreen Shot 2013-11-10 at 8.49.43 PMScreen Shot 2013-11-10 at 8.52.04 PM

1. Under the Never Sky, Veronica Rossi. I feel like I see this happen a lot with dystopian/sci-fi/fantasy. I actually really like the background, which I’m assuming represents the aether. But add a person to the cover and it just turns meh and lame.

2. Throne of Glass, Sarah J. Maas. I like the idea behind the cover, which is to show how badass Celaena is. But I think the execution made her look like she’s in a video game.

3. Unearthly, Cynthia Hand. I feel such a disconnect between the cover and who the main character, Clara, actually is. She’s just not the kind of girl to stand around looking forlorn while wearing a ball-gown. The cover is gorgeous and I love the typography, but I don’t think it matches the story.

4. Wild Magic, Tamora Pierce. Pierce’s books have undergone plenty of cover changes and this is my least favorite. It’s just so lame and Daine would never look so pensive. She’s a girl of action.

5. Vampire Academy, Richelle Mead. Honestly, these covers were huge turnoffs for me and one of the reasons I was so hesitant to start this series. I’m glad I got past the covers and gave them a chance, but seriously, these are awful.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top [Five] Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

  1. At first I was like…what?! The ToG cover is so badass! But you’re totally right about it looking like a video game (which doesn’t bother me). Man some of the Tamora Pierce series have had some truly terrible covers over the years haha. Luckily all of them have been redesigned like a billion times! And I’m not going to lie…I’ve still not read the Vampire Academy series and I’ve only recently realized I’m pretty sure it’s 70% the cover and 30% the word vampire in the title. Which is hypocritical of me as I don’t hate all vampire books. Just most of them.

  2. I’m also not a huge fan of the UTNS covers. I agree that the background is cool, but the people… meh. I like this Throne of Glass cover better than the original, but I definitely see your point on how it makes her look like she’s in a video game. Those books are so awesome, they deserve better covers. VA covers suck. I haven’t read the series yet (not because of the covers, just because I haven’t gotten around to it yet), but I really want to!

  3. I love the TOG cover…and a huge improvement (to me) over the original, BUT I totally see your point. So many people have the UTNS and VA books on their lists. I hadn’t really ever thought about the UTNS books because I love them so much but the covers could be improved though I do love them just because of my overwhelming love of the series. The VA book just makes me think of Angelina Jolie 🙂 Great list!

    1. I love the UTNS series too, but apparently my love doesn’t extend to the covers haha! Also I completely agree that the original Throne of Glass cover was just awful.

  4. I don’t like that cover for Wild Magic! I prefer the ones I own, that have animals on them, more. I haven’t read Throne of Glass yet, but that cover isn’t very good. I agree about how it looks like she is in a video game!

    1. I LOVE the old Immortals Quartet covers! They were so magical. Don’t let the cover of Throne of Glass keep you from reading it…the book is awesome even if I thought the cover could use some work!

  5. Richelle Mead’s VA + Bloodlines series needs a makeover. Those books are awesome, but the covers are not. It makes me sad.

    I do like the new Throne of Glass cover, but I totally agree that Celaena looks like she’s in a video game. It gets weird when I read the book and imagine video characters. D:

Leave a Reply

