Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. One of the best things about being an avid reader is discovering new authors. Here are ten of my favorites from this past year.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 9.09.12 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 9.29.45 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 9.33.59 PM

1. Rainbow Rowell. This was Rainbow’s year and it was so deserved. It’s pretty much guaranteed that I’ll be reading everything she writes for the rest of forever.

2. Sarah J. Maas. I’ve raved about her Throne of Glass series and I’m loving her Starkillers Cycle, too. Basically she’s hella creative and I’m on board for the long haul.

3. Elizabeth Wein. I’ve never been much of an historical fiction fan, but good god, did I fall hard for her two WWII novels.

4. Susan Dennard. Never expected I would enjoy a zombie book, but this one was so much fun! I’m looking forward to the rest of the series and from the looks of Dennard’s kickass Pinterest pages, I have a feeling I’m going to love her next series too.

5. Stephanie Perkins. With Anna and Lola both under my belt this year, I think it’s safe to say I’ve found another favorite contemporary author.

6. Sarah Beth Durst. I’m always on the lookout for new fantasy authors and Durst has one of the most creative minds I’ve seen.

7. Rick Yancey. With one of the biggest releases this year, Yancey is an author to watch. I really want to read his Monstrumologist series now.

8. Kasie West. I adored Pivot Point and I’m psyched there’s a sequel coming out soon.

9. Veronica Rossi. My love for Roar knows no bounds.

10. Alexandra Bracken. It’s hard to stand out in the dystopian game these days, but I thought The Darkest Minds was thrilling.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read in 2013

  1. GAH *slaps forehead* how could I have forgotten Sarah Beth Durst off my list?? Conjured was the first book I read by her and it was so, so beautifully written. Ahhh prose I could read you and your plot would be nonsense and I would still love you. (Luckily, of course, the entire book was fantastic). The Starkillers Cycle is SO. FREAKING. INTENSE. Not that I’m surprised, mind you. Sarah J. Maas is on my TTT list for her ToG series which are the best thing ever. I need to read Susan Dennard’s books now!

  2. I still haven’t read anything by Sarah Beth Durst even though she has been on my radar for ages (or at least it feels like it). Already own one of her books though and I’m defenitely going to read it in 2014.

    I love Rick Yancey! If I hadn’t read his first Monstrumologist book in 2011 he would be on my list too. Read the other 3 books of the series this year in such a short amount of time and loved them all. And The 5th Wave of course. I’m so excited about the second book.

  3. Yay for finding new authors to love! I completely agree with you on V Rossi, Kasie West, Susan Dennard, and Elizabeth Wein! Can you believe I still haven’t read a Rainbow Rowell book yet?!? — or Throne of Glass for that matter?? Boooooo.

  4. Veronica Rossi, I totally agree with you on that one. Especially about Roar! I have seen Elizabeth Wein on a lot of these lists, I’m planning on checking out Code Name Verity in the next few weeks, every one says its amazing! Rick Yancey looks interesting too, will have to check his books out!

  5. OH YAY! So many favorites/new favorites of mine as well! Love Rainbow, Susan, Stephanie, Kasie, Alexandra… Ah, and I can’t wait to read more by them in 2014!! Fantastic list! 😀

  6. Great list! This is full of so many authors I am still dying to read myself – Rainbow Rowell, Rick Yancey, Kasie West, Veronica Rossi and Alexandra Bracken – I literally can’t wait to read their books, will definitely be getting to them all in 2014 🙂 My TTT.

Leave a Reply

