Best of 2013

Last year, I decided to do a write-up of my favorite non-bookish things for the year. This year, I decided to make it a tradition! So here are my favorite things of 2013.

Screen Shot 2013-12-03 at 9.01.16 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 8.29.28 PM

1. The Hunger Games: Catching FireI may or may not have sobbed my way through this entire movie (spoiler alert: I did). I really liked the first one. I thought it was a good adaptation and liked everything but the shaky cam (and the mutts, which weren’t nearly horrifying enough). But Catching Fire blew me away. Legit the best book-to-movie adaptation I’ve seen. Everything was better: the acting, the direction, the special effects.

2. Pacific Rim. I’ve said it once (ok, more than once) and I’ll say it again: there is literally nothing better than a movie about a monster-based apocalypse in which the ONLY solution is to build giant fucking robots. Also, this movie features the best apocalypse speech since the one the president gives in Independence Day.

3. Star Trek Into DarknessIt’s totally normal to be turned on by Benedict Cumberbatch killing people, right?

4. The Book Thief. This wasn’t as perfect an adaptation as Catching Fire but still good in its own way. The part that impressed me the most was the casting. Everyone was so good. And my favorite book character, Rudy, was my favorite movie character as well (we’re going to ignore how they changed his ending unnecessarily).

5. Man of Steel. I know, everyone thought this was terrible. My problem is I like every superhero movie, even the bad ones. Superman isn’t even one of my top favorite superheroes. There were tons of plot holes in this movie, but I still bought a copy. Henry Cavill makes a good Superman and boy, is he pretty to watch.

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 8.48.07 PM

1. Arrow. See what I mean about superheroes? So I started watching this on Hulu during the first season, but I got behind and then couldn’t catch up. So when it went up on Netflix, I watched all 2o-something episodes in like two days so that I could watch season 2 live. I watch for the whole superhero thing, but also I’m sailing hard on the Olicity ship. Laurel sucks, Felicity is awesome, THIS SHIP IS EVERYTHING.

2. Hostages. I feel like no one has actually heard of this show, but it’s intense and compelling and I’m hooked.

3. Scandal. This is easily one of the best shows on tv. There’s so much moral ambiguity…it’s delicious. If you decide to start, be prepared: you will become addicted and desire Olivia Pope’s wardrobe above all things.

4. Supernatural. I have no idea how I became so emotionally invested in this show. Like it happened immediately. And then because I had heard so much about Cas on Tumblr/Pinterest, I rushed through the first three seasons just to get to him. AND I LOVE HIM. If anything happens to him, I will die. DIE.

5. Teen Wolf. This show is so good, you guys. I can’t even. Like it’s an MTV show but it’s actually good. I don’t get it.

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 9.05.19 PM

1. The Civil Wars, The Civil Wars. I was first introduced to The Civil Wars on The Hunger Games soundtrack. There’s something a little bit haunting about their voices. (Favorites: Same Old Same Old, Dust to Dust)

2. Of Monsters and Men, Of Monsters and Men. I was a little late to this one, but it’s been on repeat since I first heard it. (Favorites: Dirty Paws, King and Lionheart, Little Talks)

3. Pure Heroine, Lorde. I still can’t believe she’s only a teenager. There’s isn’t a bad track on this album. (Favorites: Team, Glory and Gore)

4. The Legend of Korra Official Soundtrack, Jeremy Zuckerman. There are a million things to praise Avatar: The Last Airbender about, and the score would be at the top of that list. The music is so utterly gorgeous and it’s my life’s greatest disappointment that a soundtrack hasn’t been released. But we got one with Korra and that will tide me over for now. What’s so impressive about Jeremy Zuckerman is you can hear how his music has grown and changed with the shows. (Favorite: Greatest Change)

5. Midnight Memories, One Direction. Don’t make fun of me! I’ve suddenly found myself to be a Directioner and it’s highly disturbing. (Favorite: Story of My Life)

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 9.19.08 PM

1. Revlon Colorstay 24-hour Foundation. This is widely regarded as the best drugstore foundation and I have to agree. I’ve tried high-end brands and honestly, the one by Revlon works just as well. It stays on all day, has good coverage, and matches my skin tone perfectly.

2. Clarisonic Mia 2. I know, this one is pretty pricing, but it’s worth the investment. I used to be really lax about washing my face (bad, I know) but with my Clarisonic, I don’t forget. Probably because it makes it so easy! Also, your face feels so clean afterwards.

3. Loreal Magic Lumi Concealer. I bought this one a while ago, but I didn’t start using it regularly until last month. I have really bad dark circles under my eyes that never go away (because I’m a vampire), so I need something with good coverage and this one fits the bill. It also actually does make my skin look brighter.

4. Benefit They’re Real! Mascara. Holy guacamole, I love this mascara. It makes my lashes look so long! I don’t know if I’ll ever use another mascara again.

5. Urban Decay Naked 3 Eyeshadow Palette. So pretty. SO PRETTY. I thought I would never need another eyeshadow palette after buying the Naked 2, but I just had to have this one. The rose colors are very flattering and the entire palette can be used for an everyday look. My favorite shades are Trick and Liar and Blackheart is excellent as a liner.

11 thoughts on “Best of 2013

  1. I like your make-up suggestions. I loved the Clarisonic Mia too and used it extensively last year. Unfortunately, something happened, and it suddenly stopped working.

    I love it, but I am so hesitant about buying a replacement. It’s quite pricey.

  2. I LOVE Pacific Rim. I even stopped counting how many times I already watched it.
    Need to look into Hostages because you’re right. Never heard of that one before 😀

  3. What face wash do you use with your Clarisonic? I bought one a few years ago and was really good about it at first and now I barely use it which is horrible.

    I also got a Sephora gift card from work and I think I’m going to go buy the Naked 3. I love the 2… I use it almost every day (I switch off with the Oz Urban Decay palette… Glinda) and eeeeeee. YOU have convinced me!

    Thanks for sharing these! HAPPY ALMOST NEW YEAR DEAR!

    1. I use Aveeno Clear Complexion Facial Cleanser. It’s a really gentle foaming cleanser and it has a nice, clean scent. However, since Betty has me starting a new face product regime, I’m going to be using one from Jenuinely Pure, which she recommends.

      YAY for buying the Naked 3! I was the same way, using the 2 every day, but the 3 is different enough to make it worth the purchase!

  4. You are awesome for making this post! I’m so glad I’m not alone in the Benedict Looks Hot Killing People Fan Club, because seriously, that should not be attractive. SHOULD. NOT.
    Also, fantastic makeup suggestions! I’ll have to check some of those out, especially the Clarisonic. 🙂

  5. I’m so bad. I still haven’t seen Catching Fire. I do plan to get it on BluRay though, as soon as it comes out. And yes, Pacific Rim was amazing! I will say that Charlie Hunnam looks so odd without facial hair though! I got confused as to who he was at first. lol
    And Benedict Cumberbatch looks hot doing ANYTHING!
    I actually happened to like Man of Steel! But I may have been distracted with the hotness of Russell Crowe and Henry Cavill. Maybe I’m like you and I love every superhero movie that comes out. (Except that Hulk movie with Eric Bana. That was bad…)

    I also love Revlon Colorstay. I don’t wear makeup that often, so I don’t like to buy expensive brands. So this one is great! It has staying power, the color selection is great, and it’s inexpensive. Win-win!

Leave a Reply

