Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read in 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This is always one of the toughest TTT posts to write. How can I choose just ten?! And what I found this year was that my choices aren’t necessarily based on the ratings I gave or the reviews I wrote. I more went with my gut feeling in the moment I was writing up this post and picked the books I felt an emotional pull towards. For a more detailed list, don’t forget to check out my End of Year Book Survey!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 9.59.25 PM

10. Just One Day, Gayle Forman. I’m a huge Gayle Forman fan and Just One Day is my favorite of her books. I connected with Allyson so much that at times it felt like I was speaking through her. | My Review

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 9.59.51 PM

9. These Broken Stars, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. I don’t know what I was expecting from this book, but it exceeded whatever those expectations were. It’s been so long since I read a good YA sci-fi novel and this is one I’ll definitely be recommending to fans of the genre. There’s a little bit of everything (space opera, survival story, romance), but it all fits together so well. | My Review

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 10.00.07 PM

8. The Dream Thieves, Maggie Stiefvater. I didn’t know I could love Gansey, Ronan, Adam, Noah, and Blue anymore, but Maggie Stiefvater proved me wrong. Oh, how I love them. And that’s why this book made this list: because the characters draw you in and then lodge themselves in your heart forever. | My Review

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 10.00.29 PM

7. Tiger Lily, Jodi Lynn Anderson. It’s always ambitious to retell a classic, but Anderson does so in a way that was totally fresh and unexpected for me. I was pulled into the story and experienced characters I thought I knew in a different way. | My Review 

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 10.01.06 PM

6. The Lost Conspiracy, Frances Hardinge. This author is one of the best fantasy authors I’ve ever read. Her creativity is boundless and every thread of the story is so tightly woven that the reader can only marvel at the connections and discoveries along the way. | My Review 

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 10.01.26 PM

5. Rose Under Fire, Elizabeth Wein. I think anyone who reads this book will love the characters fiercely and immediately. Wein is a master storyteller and after hearing her speak about the research she put into this novel, I was astounded. | My Review 

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 10.01.40 PM

4. Scarlet, A.C. Gaughen. I just read this one last week and I can’t get it out of my mind. I’ve been thinking about Scar and Rob ever since I turned that last page. It’s been a while since a story has gripped me so completely. | Review to Come!

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 10.01.54 PM

3. Crown of Midnight, Sarah J. Maas. This sophomore novel solidified the series as one of my favorite YA fantasies. Maas really brought it with this one, amping everything up: the action, the romance, the OMG moments. | My Review

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 10.02.39 PM

2. Eleanor & Park, Rainbow Rowell. I have a feeling this one will be making everyone’s top ten list this year. Eleanor & Park is a beautiful, unforgettable story. | My Review 

and my top book of 2013 is…

Screen Shot 2013-12-25 at 10.02.53 PM

1. Code Name Verity, Elizabeth Wein. A wonderful, heartbreaking, courageous story about friendship and love like you’ve never read before. Buy it, read it, give it to everyone you know. | My Review

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read in 2013

  1. I loved Just One Day, much more than Just One Year. Allison is someone that I, too, connected with. And These Broken Stars….I NEED NOW! And maybe next year I’ll FINALLY get around to reading Code Name Verity! Sheesh! =)

    Happy New Year!

  2. I have been meaning to read the Throne of Glass series, Code Name Verity, and Scarlet for the longest time! They have been on my shelf for the longest! Hopefully in 2014 I will get all of these books read. 🙂

  3. I like this font, and I like this list! Really enjoyed E&P and These Broken Stars too. Code Name, as well but… a favorite? I’m not sure if I could say that. Definitely touching and memorable for me though. Especially since I was scared of it for so long. 🙂 Here’s to another year of great books!

  4. Love the font you used! As for the list itself, I think it’s great because three of them are on my list too! They are Tiger Lily, Crown of Midnight (also now one of my favorite fantasies) and These Broken Stars. I have Code Name Verity to read, so I will do that soon!

  5. TIGER LILY AW YISS. I absolutely adore that book, and I’m sure anyone who knows me knows that by now. Eleanor & Park is on my list as well!

    And my coblogger, Tatum, bought my Code Name Verity for my birthday so I HAVE to read it soon!

    Happy New Year!

  6. Oh I loved Scarlet when I read it in 2013!!! The story of Scar and Rob is awesome, and I can’t wait to read the next book in the series this year! I’m a sucker for tales of Robin Hood, so I was helpless on this one.

  7. Every book on this list that I’ve read was amazing (Tiger Lily, Crown of Midnight, The Dream Thieves)! Clearly we have excellent taste 🙂 Everything I’ve not read on this list I’m hoping to get to in the next year!

Leave a Reply

