Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. You’ve already heard about some of my personal goals for the year, so I decided to make this post about my bookish ones! I’m not even going to glance at my list for last year, because I know I failed everything haha.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

1. COMMENT MORE COMMENT MORE COMMENT MORE. Seriously, I’m the worst commenter on the planet. I maybe comment once a week on a single blog if that. I read tons of blogs, too, I just never comment. I’m more of the silent-observer type. But the thing is…I’m a part of this blogging community, and I know it’s supposed to fun, but there are obligations too. Like actually participating and not just staring at my computer blankly.

2. Engage on Twitter more. A lot of my problem with Twitter comes from the fact that I can’t always be on it, so I’ll miss the beginnings of conversations and then I have no idea what’s going on, so I don’t say anything. But I definitely want to make more of an effort to ask questions and respond to what people are saying, even if I can’t do it as often as I’d like to.

3. Read more new-to-me authors. I really struggled with coming up with ten authors for this list, so I want to expand my author repertoire.

4. Read more debuts. Related to the last one, I almost always gravitate towards an author I’ve read before. I’ve read some pretty terrible debuts since I’ve started blogging, and I think that’s turned me off in general. Which it shouldn’t! I need to be more open to giving new authors a chance.

5. Incorporate more creative posts. I tried including a lot of different posts in 2013, like my book playlists, my book spine poetry, or my personal posts. Since starting my new job, I haven’t had time to write these kinds of posts (I put a lot of time into them, and I just haven’t had any to spare recently). I want to start making time to do those kinds of posts, because they’re fun to write and a way to exercise my creativity muscles.

6. Review what I feel like reviewing. So many times I get sucked into the hype machine or I request an ARC because I feel like I have to review them, but life is short, time is of the essence, other cliche, etc.

7. Participate in more events. I know there are a ton of Twitter chats, book challenges, and read-alongs, but I rarely participate.

8. Stop buying so many books. HAHAHA as if.

9. Read more backlist titles. I have so many favorite authors, but I keep putting off reading their older books. I want to stop focusing on the newest thing and take time to appreciate the awesome books that have been out there for a while.

10. Remember why I love reading. Because seriously…books are awesome.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2014

  1. BACKLIST TITLES. YES. I need to pay more attention to those. Also, the way I see it is: buy all the books you want, eventually you will have everything you REALLY want and it’ll just be a matter of filling in the gaps with REALLY GOOD new releases. I go to BN/work/Strand/wtvr now and I leave with nothing because I already HAVE everything I really, really want. (I do a lot of Goodreads research before buying because I get mad at myself for buying something I’ll hate.) It’s really pretty crazy. And for the things I only kinda want? LIBRARY. <333 great list my dear!! ^_^

  2. Comment more and buy less books are part of my goals too.
    I already started writing more comments at the end of last year and want to keep going like that. It turned out to be so much fun to really talk about all the books with other bloggers and not just write reviews and be done with them. It was good for my motivation that suddenly some great discussions came up.

  3. Great resolutions!

    I particularly love “remember why I love reading”. After I started blogging, I seem to not love reading as much as before 😦

  4. Remember why i love reading. YAY. Good one.

    A comment on original features: sometimes they take so much time I don’t have and I forget about them too. I’m hoping M & I can revive a few ourselves this time around. GOOD LUCK. Bring back the spine poetry!! Please!

  5. Great list! I think we all need to remember why we started blogging in the first place. I have many of the same goals, but my main one is to cut out the stuff on my blog that makes me stressed out and try to enjoy myself more.

    You can see my list here: My Top Ten.

  6. I feel like you are and I are twinsies when it comes to our bookish resolutions. It’s hard when working full time because we’re not able to spend as much time chatting on FB/Twitter and creating clever new features for our blogs. I’ve learned that there has to be a work/blog/life balance otherwise you get super burnt out on it all. I think we all tend to let the pressure build and build and build and many of us can lose sight of why we do this in the first place. Talking about books/reading is FUN! It should never feel like a chore!

    And yeah, it’s definitely hard because the newer, shiner books are constantly getting all the love, but seriously, how many times can one person review the same darn thing in the span of a week. Let’s give some newer authors and older books a chance! Let’s turn people on to something new!

  7. I totally agree with the resolution about reading more backlist titles! In my case, though, I’m choosing to focus on reading books that are already out. I feel like I neglect a lot of them in favor of books that aren’t being publishing till later, and I’d definitely like to change that. Good luck with all your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

