Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2014 Debuts I Didn’t Know About Until I Had to Write This List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. So I mentioned in my TTT bookish resolutions post that I wanted to read more debuts this year because I’ve been burned in the past and have kind of avoided the whole thing. It was basically impossible for me to come up with any, let alone ten, debuts for this list, so I headed over to trusty GR and trolled the lists of 2014 YA debuts and chose ones that piqued my interest. Hopefully, I’ll actually read some of these this year.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-01-13 at 9.02.52 PM

1. Control, Lydia Kang. Secret DNA? Nightclubs? ECSTASY?? Literally none of this sounds up my alley, but hey, maybe that’s the point of trying debuts.

2. A Mad, Wicked Folly, Sharon Biggs Waller. Hello, awesome title, I didn’t see you over there. But also I love a good high society story.

3. Midnight Thief, Livia Blackburne. Wait a second, I actually have heard of a 2014 debut! I reviewed the prequel novella to this one and it totally piqued my interest in this world.

4. The Fifty-Seven Lives of Alex Wayfare, M. G. Buehrlen. Hold up, here’s another I know about because Mandy runs YABC and I’m an editor over there (and she’s awesome)! But even if I didn’t review for YABC I would still be interested in this one because past lives are super cool.

5. Salvage, Alexandra Duncan. So the cover might be a bit ridiculous, but I’ve heard this is a feminist sci-fi story and we all know we need more of those!

6. Sekret, Lindsay Smith. Psychic spies?! Sounds baller.

7. Love Letters to the Dead, Ava Dellaira. I haven’t really felt like reading much contemporary lately, but this one sounds like a tearjerker for sure.

8. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, Leslye Walton. This one looks like it could be either really weird or really heartbreaking or maybe even both.

9. The Nethergrim, Matthew Jobin. I love a good MG fantasy! Or just a good MG in general…I really need to read more MG books.

10. Cruel Beauty, Rosamund Hodge. I apparently can’t resist a fairytale retelling.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten 2014 Debuts I Didn’t Know About Until I Had to Write This List

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one that doesn’t have debuts on their radar! I knew of a few, but had to do a little digging around this afternoon. haha I have Midnight Thief and 57 Lives on my list too! We should make Midnight Thief a book club book, eh? EH! Oh- I am also excited for Love Letters to the Dead!!

  2. I love the brutally honest title! I gave up on this topic and did a different one instead because I don’t keep track of release dates unless it’s SUPER important to me. But I am excited for Control! I bought it the day it came out, and now I just have to make sure I read it xD

  3. The only reason I know of some debuts is because I’m doing a challenge this year. You’ve got a lot of books on here I am interested in too. I’m hearing more and more about Midnight Thief and I’m checking that off as a to-read!

  4. I took this assignment in a bit of a different direction and listed debuting series, not necessarily debuting authors. My list is totally different from everyone else’s. LOL. But, I’m finding out about some of the cool debut authors from you all, so that’s awesome!

    TTT @ Krista’s Dust Jacket

  5. The main reason I didn’t do a TTT post this week is that I didn’t know enough about 2013 debut titles to make a list! So you are not alone. I think SEKRET looks good, and I may try out CRUEL BEAUTY too, if it doesn’t have a love triangle (allergic to those right now). Dashing off to look at the blurb!

  6. Great list! I’m so excited for so many of these and a few made my list too. I am so excited for Love Letters to the Dead, it looks soooo good! There seems to be so many good books coming out in 2014, I’m not sure where I’ll find the time to read them all. I hope you get to all of your picks 🙂 My TTT.

  7. I’m really excited for Cruel Beauty too! I think it’s going to be an interesting retelling. Plus, it is a retelling of my favorite fairytale — Beauty and the Beast!

Leave a Reply

