Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This week I’m letting you know what I want to see more of in the books that get published.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.47.11 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.48.06 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.48.43 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.49.39 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.51.24 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.51.55 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.52.48 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.53.11 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.53.39 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 9.56.41 PM

1. Thieves. I can never get enough of thieves. Ever since I read The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner, I’ve been obsessed.

2. Lesser-known fairytale retellings. I love Beauty & the Beast as much as any other Disney princess, but I want authors to branch out with their retellings. There are so many fairytales from all around the world and I think there’s so much potential there to tell old stories in new ways.

3. Fantasy based on other cultures/time periods. Medieval fantasy is pretty damn common these days, and while there have been some Asian-based fantasy worlds, I want fantasy inspired by countries all over the world.

4. Girl-guy friendships without romance. My favorite relationship in the Under the Never Sky series isn’t Perry and Aria…it’s Aria and Roar. I love how they’re best friends without any agenda, how they love each other, but aren’t in love with each other. I want more of that in YA.

5. Real stakes. You basically always know that the main character is going to make it. That’s just how YA does it. But what I want to see is a YA series where you have no idea who’s going to live or die. I want that sense of danger.

6. Actually surprising plot twists. It’s gotten to the point where I usually guess what’s going to happen within the first few pages. I want to be really surprised for once.

7. Sibling relationships. I love family dynamics, but I feel like they often take a backseat to other relationships. This isn’t related to books, but why I’m really loving The Originals tv show is because at its heart, it’s about family.

8. Complicated power struggles. Something I loved so much about The Girl of Fire and Thorns series is that Elisa is such a good queen because she excels at politic maneuvering. I want to see more of that.

9. Superheroes. Superheroes. All the time. Every day.

10. More gods/goddesses. I love mythology, and I especially love when authors create their own pantheons. It’s so fascinating and I’m obsessed with gods and how they interact with humans and how they’re all powerful but flawed and gahhh I want this RIGHT NOW.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

  1. I’d love to see more emphasis on friendship in YA, I really feel like it’s underappreciated.

    International fairy-tale retellings YES PLZ.

  2. 1. This goes hand in hand with pirates, right?

    3. Yessssss, I would love some more historical fantasies.

    6. Hahaha, this is a must for me. I always seem to figure out the twist before it’s revealed. And while I love being right, I also love being surprised.

  3. For #2, you HAVE to read “My Father He Ate Me, My Mother She Killed Me.” I think that’s the way the title goes, but anyway, it’s BEYOND AWESOME. It’s modern authors retelling fairytales from all different cultures. They also came out with a mythological one last year called “XO Orpheus.” Check it out if you haven’t read it.

Leave a Reply

