ALA Midwinter Conference Recap

This past weekend, book club took a field trip to Philly for ALAMW! We had a ton of fun and were also exhausted at the end! But it’s always a good time to talk about books for days and fangirl over books and our most anticipated upcoming releases and see blogging friends and meet authors and…let’s just say book conferences are the bee’s knees.

alamw14 books
Abe is judging me for all the books I picked up.

Rather than do a book haul post or video, I thought I’d do a mini award post for some of my favorite books and moments of the weekend.

The “if I don’t get this book I’ll burn this city to the ground” award goes to…

Lady Thief, A.C. Gaughen. I already wrote a rambling, fangirlish review about my love for Scarletso I feel like no explanation is needed here.

The “I picked it up just because the cover is so gorgeous” award goes to…

Let’s Get Lost, Aldi Alsad. I don’t even know what this one’s about, but I know Jamie was dying to get her hands on a copy, so that’s good enough for me!

The “Daniel Sheridan is so hot” award goes to…

Strange and Ever After, Susan Dennard. I haven’t even read the second book, but I love this series so much already.

The “coolest swag” award goes to…

The Cress comb from MacMillan. No lie, I walked around the exhibits hall combing my hair randomly after I picked one of these up.

The “I’ve never heard of this but do tell me more” award goes to…

The River of No Return, Bee Ridgway. I don’t read many adult books these days, but this one about time travel intrigued me.

The “coolest coffee shop in Philly” award goes to…

La Colombe. The guy who made my latte had a curly mustache.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.24.16 PM

The “BOOK CLUB LOVES RAINBOW ROWELL” award goes to…

Ranbow Rowell! So Rainbow had a signing at the conference and we waited in line and it was crazy how many people showed up. Well, not that crazy, because Rainbow is awesome. But once we got up to the front and tried to get a picture with her, the girl taking the photo totally failed! She took a picture of the floor and one of people’s chests. Not sure why she couldn’t figure out an iPhone, but whatever. So then book club also went to her signing at Children’s Book World later that night, and we FINALLY got our picture. And we look damn cute, if I do say so myself. Especially knowing how tired we all were.

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 9.28.50 PM

10 thoughts on “ALA Midwinter Conference Recap

  1. YAY BOOK CLUB. Yep. We all look pretty damn cute and yes we were DEF dragging at that point…esp after being smooshed together like sardines while listening to them read! We should read Let’s Get Lost together!! ALSO…I didn’t get the comb!! :((

  2. Your coffee looks so good and that picture with Rainbow Rowell turned out great! I wish I could have gone and seen the Youth Media Awards. Someday! And I hope you love your books–Sex And Violence, Salvage, and Grasshopper Jungle are all on my TBR pile.

  3. Pingback: Black 'n Write

Leave a Reply

