Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This week, we’re bringing the tears so break out the tissues and ice cream!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 7.51.29 PMScreen Shot 2014-02-02 at 7.56.43 PM

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 7.59.55 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 8.03.57 PM

1. Tiger Lily, Jodi Lynn Anderson. 

2. Code Name Verity, Elizabeth Wein.

3. The Fault in Our Stars, John Green.

4. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling.

5. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak.

6. The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins.

7. If I Stay, Gayle Forman.

8. Crown of Midnight, Sarah J. Maas.

9. Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian, Rick Riordan.

10. Scarlet, A.C. Gaughen.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

  1. I CAN’T EVEN TAKE ALL THESE CRYING GIFS. But yes. All of these that I have read. In fact at the end of Tiger Lily I might have said those exact words actually haha. I ugly cried my way through the end of The Book Thief, and Harry Potter and The Hunger Games are givens (all three of these made my list too. Actually Tiger Lily might have too…I’m too lazy to check). And Crown of Midnight..just..just…WHY??? It’s still one of my favourite books. I’m such a masochist.

  2. LoL. That Gif for Tiger Lily is PERFECT! So many tears in one post. I cried alot during the Hunger Games Trilogy. Mostly the end of the last one. I was a blubbering fool. TTT

  3. We have several of the same ones. Your not human is you can read FioS without bawling. Also, I’m glad to see other ppl put HP7. It was an end of an era. I also included The Book Thief, but not the Percy J book, I loved it but it was not a boohoo for me,

  4. OMG, The Hunger Games, Harry Potter and Tiger Lily destroyed me! I really can’t handle all the tears so I, often, purposefully avoid tearjerker books. I think the one I most regret putting off (thus far) is TFIOS. I’ll probably go see the movie and make a bigger fool of myself in the theatre… in public… than I ought to. Why am I such a glutton for punishment?

  5. I seriously love that you used all of these (amazing) crying GIFs for your post! The “Cry Me A River” GIF is my absolute favorite (because who DOESN’T love JT?). As for the books, yes, Crown of Midnight made me cry too! I love it so much, and to have all these things (good and bad) happen to my beloved characters took a lot out of my soul. (Dramatic, yes, but it’s the truth!)

  6. The gifs, man, the gifs. THEY ARE SO ACCURATE!!! And I love the way you set up this post. 🙂 Anyways, I totally agree with TFiOS, Harry Potter, and the Book Thief. The feels!!!!!

  7. Code Name Verity had me bawling like a baby! I really want to read Tiger Lily but I don’t want to cry! Everyone who reads this seems to cry!! Btw, Idk how I wasn’t following your blog before, bc I follow you on instagram! Anyways, I am now! 🙂 I love your blog design! Super cute!! 🙂 Have a great week!!

    xo, Becca @Pivot Book Reviews

  8. Crown of Midnight is one of those too??? Yay! I’m currently reading Throne of Glass and that makes me want to finish that one even faster so that I can get to the second book and start being sad. (“normal” people must think I’m crazy getting all excited about being sad, but I just love books which give me all the feels)

Leave a Reply

