Book Blogger Love-A-Thon 2014: Interview with Katie from Spirit of Children’s Literature

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.11.08 PM

Hi everyone and welcome to another year of Book Blog love! The amazing Alexa and Katelyn are hosting this fun-filled event again this year and I’m so happy to be participating. Especially since this year, I set aside my slacker ways and actually signed up early enough to get an interview parter. So give a warm welcome to Katie from Spirit of Children’s Literature! And don’t forget to head on over to her blog to read my answers to the interview!

1. What is your most memorable bookish moment?

That would have to be attending a children’s literature conference in Pennsylvania where I heard one of my favorite authors, Kate DiCamillo speak! I then was able to get her to sign my copy of The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane and the illustrator was there too! It was amazing!

 2. What book did you read over and over again as a kid?

I read Anne of Green Gables over and over again. I loved that book and all the books in the series so much. I was even in this online fan club where each person had the name of a character from one of the books by L.M. Montgomery. I was Marigold from Magic for Marigold!

 3. If the apocalypse happened tomorrow, what would be your first reaction?

Eeek! I would probably head to my parents’ house because they have a well-stocked pantry! I would also try to gather extra food and water, and cat food, for my cat! I would probably pray! 🙂

4. If you were dropped into any book world right now, what world would you want to be in?

What a great question! I think I would want to be dropped into the world of Avonlea! I love the beauty of Prince Edward Island and the simplicity of life in Avonlea—I think I’d like to try that out for awhile.

5. What series do you think everyone should read?

Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart trilogy! These books invite you into an amazing world of fantasy where reading aloud actually activates characters from books and people can fall into the Inkheart story itself. There are villains, heroes, and supernatural occurrences. It’s an epic series and I love these stories celebrating the power of story!

6. What book have you read in the last year that you would say has ‘spiritual’ aspects to it?

I especially appreciated how Rae Carson’s book, The Crown of Embers, detailed the spiritual culture of Elisa’s world. I really liked how Elisa has to rely on something other than herself in order to get through very difficult situations and think this was a good example of spirituality. She taps into a supernatural source through her “godstone” and this support her during her journey as queen!

 7. Your house is burning and you can only take three books with you–which ones do you take?

This is hard! I would have to say Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery, The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, and The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins.

8. For Valentine’s Day, you have been given a date with one of your book boyfriends. Which one do you choose for the date?

This is easy! Definitely Hector from Rae Carson’s Girl of Fire and Thrones trilogy. He’s fascinating, intelligent, polite, and has a complex history!

Thanks, Katie! You were a fab interview partner! 🙂

Want to take a journey into the past? Check out my Love-A-Thon posts from last year below!

Welcome

Mini Challenge #1: Blog Appreciation

Mini Challenge #2: Book Spine Poetry

Mini Challenge #3: Catching Fire Playlist

Mini Challenge #4: Letter to my Future Self

Mini Challenge #5: Top Blogging Moments

18 thoughts on “Book Blogger Love-A-Thon 2014: Interview with Katie from Spirit of Children’s Literature

  1. This coming from another huge fan of Anne of Green Gables, I’m pretty happy to see all your answers! I haven’t read all of the books yet (I’m only book five) but I’ve reread the first one about five times since the first read! It’s just one of those books that never get boring no matter how many times you read it. I even have an Anne of Green Gables recipe book. I had a good laugh when I saw the liniment cake in there! I would love to go to PEI as well but for a vacation. I’m very much a city girl and while the quiet and the beauty of the land would be great, I don’t think I would be able to last even two weeks living there. Yay for the Inkheart series! I still have yet to finish it but the first one is definitely on my list of favourites. I loved your answers Katie, and great questions Ellie! I especially enjoyed the apocalypse one! 🙂

    1. Annie, I agree with you! The first book is one that I never get tired of–it’s such a perfect favorite book! I probably have the same Anne of Green Gables cookbook you have!! I should post a photo of it. LOL. PEI is amazing–I have been there once and really want to go back.

  2. I’ve always love Anne of Green Gables, but I’ve never read the books :O We vacationed in PEI every year when I was a kid, and there’s this little shopping village that put on a re-enactment of various parts of the book, throughout the day. I always thought I was just like Anne, since I had a similar temper as a kid, and I always dreamed of growing up to play Anne at that shopping village! Haha

  3. Anne of Green Gables was one of my favorite series growing up too, Katie! Have you seen the gorgeous new covers that Sourcebooks has released for the series? I’m definitely planning on getting my hands on those pretties soon.

    Also, having just finished binge reading the Fire and Thorns series, I’m seriously smiling at the mention of Hector. Because he’s basically swoony and wonderful and just PERFECT ❤

    1. Alexa, I have seen the new covers from Sourcebooks and I want to get them all!! I think they are gorgeous and can’t wait for them all to come out. I think some of them are out already. Hector is fabulous!

  4. Gathering food and water is definitely the best idea during an apocalypse. Tip: Fill up your bathtub with water before they cut the water off/before it runs out. You’re welcome 😉 I’ve never actually read Inkheart. I should fix this, because I’ve had the first book forever. And I’m about to start reading The Crown of Embers so I’m thrilled to see that you like it so much. AND HECTOR.

  5. Meeting your favorite author and having them signed your book sounds like the most awesome memory you can make bookish wise 😀 I’ve seen the first movie from Inkheart and I loved the whole idea, so I need to take a look at the books too. I have the first one somewhere on the shelves. The crown of Embers is amazig! Mel@thedailyprophecy

  6. I love seeing so much love for Anne of Green Gables. I loved the books and movies growing up. I always see people posting the new editions. I have the itch to buy a new set! Also love that you put HECTOR. I have only read The Girl of Fire and Thorns, but I hear book 2 is where it’s at!! I hope he shaves his stache!

  7. It was so much fun to do this interview, Ellie! I think our questions were perfect–the Apocalypse one is definitely something we should be thinking about, and our books prepare us well. Lol.

Leave a Reply

