Book Blogger Love-A-Thon 2014: Mini Challenge {4} – Book Playlist

I’ve been making book playlists for years, and have made it a feature on my blog, so this was an easy choice to make for my mash-up challenge! Instead of doing what I usually do and match music to the entire book, I wanted to really challenge myself and do something different! So I chose to make a playlist about one of my favorite leading men who’s been on my mind lately, Warner from the Shatter Me series.

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 9.11.08 PM

i want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with

// a Warner Playlist

Cruel All by Myself, Euzen

True to different sides of myself I will let someone down,/Self-destructiveness feels more or less like the jewel in my crown/Trust is hard to find when not trusting yourself

Touch, Daughter

You steal me away/With your eyes and with your mouth/And just take me back to a room in your house/And stare at me with the lights off

Surrender, Digital Daggers

Broken down,/I give into what I can not have/I surrender

You Kill Me, Paper Route

Hold your head up dear/I’m the one who’s wounded here/But I love you still the same

Howl, Florence + the Machine

Screaming in the dark, I howl when we’re apart/drag my teeth across your chest to taste your beating heart

When the War Came, The Decemberists

Our trust put in the government/They told their lies as heaven-sent/’Til the war came

She is the Sunlight, Trading Yesterday

And if loving her is/Is heartache for me/And if holding her means/That I have to bleed/Then I am the martyr

Hearts Like Ours, The Naked and Famous

Could we try to reinvent/Feed the head with common sense/Through the streets and avenues/Climbing up the walls with you

Flaws, Bastille

You have always worn your flaws upon your sleeve/And I have always buried them deep beneath the ground

Icarus, White Hinterland

Slender as a carp you are/Your skin defiantly silver and so sure/As for me, I am not so sure/I watch you skate like a knife

13 thoughts on “Book Blogger Love-A-Thon 2014: Mini Challenge {4} – Book Playlist

  1. I love that you did a book playlist!! I haven’t read this series yet but based on your playlist of Warner (I mean seriously, Bastille AND Daughter, consider me in love!) I cannot wait to read it. Also, I will definitely be checking out your book playlist feature because I LOVE BOOK PLAYLISTS!!

  2. A Warner playlist- awesome!! I’m not caught up on the series but those songs look very Warner-appropriate to me and I can’t wait to listen. Beautiful graphic too.

  3. Books and Music seem to be a popular combination and I love it. I have never been in the know on music too much. I love to discover new bands though. I will have to listen to this and see if there is something I love I didn’t even know about! Thanks!

  4. Hell yes for book playlists! And I loved that you made it for Warner. I haven’t read Ignite Me, I am putting it off as long as possible cause I may hate it (I know, I know) but from the first two books he’s intrigued me so much. And I LOVE music, and discovering new music, so thank you!

    Nicole @ The Quiet Concert

  5. A Warner playlist?! *swoons*

    I only recognize a couple of the artists on this list, but the ones I know I love! Definitely going to give this a listen to as I check out other mash-ups 😀

  6. You had me with this playlist at “Paper Route”. I love them! Even though I’m not a huge Warner fan(though I haven’t read Ignite Me yet, so I suppose there’s still time), he’s a fascinating character for a playlist, and just skimming over this, you have some great picks! I love when people make bookish playlists, but a character playlist seems even more epic.

Leave a Reply

