Top Ten Tuesday: Top {Seven} Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. There are always going to be those authors that everyone in the blogosphere is talking about, but here are seven whose works I haven’t picked up yet. Try to convince me to bump these authors’ books up my TBR list in the comments!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-03-02 at 7.54.23 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-03-02 at 8.01.56 PM

1. Victoria Schwab. I just went to one of her signings, so I have The Archived and Vicious and I’m really excited to read both!

2. Jenny Han. One of my friends has been trying to get me to read The Summer I Turned Pretty since high school. Not sure I’ll ever read that one (her name is Belly?! Are you kidding me?) but I got her upcoming book at ALAMW, so maybe it’s time to give her books a chance.

3. Huntley Fitzpatrick. Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, has been raving about My Life Next Door. This one is obviously a must-read.

4. Kendare Blake. My aversion to horror has kept me from opening Anna Dressed in Blood, even though I have it on my Kindle. I just need to suck it up and not worry about getting scared!

5. Brandon Sanderson. As a fantasy enthusiast, I feel like I’ve been missing out for never reading a Brandon Sanderson book. I have Mistborn and Steelheart, so I really need to try this author.

6. Rebecca Serle. I’ve heard good things about When You Were Mine.

7. Ally Carter. Sometimes you just need a light read, and from what I’ve heard, Ally Carter is one of the best at this.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top {Seven} Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. The only one of these I have read is Brandon Sanderson and that’s just the Mistborn series. They are amazing. The first one especially. Someone loaned it to me ages and it took me a while to get into, I was slightly unsure of it, but then I fell in love with the characters and did not stop until I had devoured the whole series. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

  2. Ok, you are totally missing out with Sanderson. Might I suggest his Hugo award winning novella, The Emperor’s Soul? It’s so gorgeously rendered and a perfect entry point, I think. Plus, if you hate his writing style, you’ve not lost much!

    I also really enjoyed Vicious, though I haven’t read anything else by Schwab (or any of the other authors on this list)!! So much to add to the TBR!

  3. I haven’t read the others, but The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy was a good, light read, even if she was called Belly! =) Anna Dressed in Blood is crazy good, but crazy scary! I loved it, but I can’t bring myself to read the next book because I’m chickenshit!

Leave a Reply

