On Choosing to Run a Different Kind of Book Blog

I’ve had a problem recently. Mayhaps you’ve noticed…there have been barely any book reviews on this blog. The simplest reason for this is because now that I have a full-time job, I just don’t have the time to read as much I’d like to. There just aren’t enough hours in the day. But there’s a deeper reason, one that I’ve been battling for quite a while. Want to know my deep, dark secret?

I hate writing book reviews.

This wasn’t always the case. When I first started blogging, I loved writing down all of my thoughts. Writing critical reviews made me think more about what I was reading and helped me discover things that I didn’t realize I had thought important before. But slowly, it’s been draining me. I’m bored with writing reviews. I’m even bored with reading them. There are only so many ways to say you like or dislike a book. All of my reviews sound the same to me now and writing one is akin to pulling a tooth. I just can’t motivate myself to do it anymore.

And here’s the worst part of it…my reluctance to write reviews, the feeling that I have to, is sucking away my love of reading. I hate feeling like reading is an obligation. I just want to open a book and enjoy it without giving a detailed explanation. I want to recapture that joy I used to have at picking up a new book.

So here’s what I’ve been wondering…who says book bloggers HAVE to review books? Where is that rule written in stone? And on a personal level, why should I do something that makes me unhappy? The answer, once I came to it, was simple. I don’t have to. I don’t have to write reviews, and I don’t have to turn in my book blogging card.

So that’s what I’m going to do: talk about books in a different way. I want to remember that I love to read and I want to continue to share that love on my blog.

PS. I loved this post by my book club buddy Jamie. I can’t even begin to explain what a relief it was to find out that someone else was feeling the same way I had been for months. Yay for not being alone in my thoughts!

PPS. Don’t worry…you can still find me reviewing over on YABooksCentral.com!

8 thoughts on “On Choosing to Run a Different Kind of Book Blog

  1. I have been trying to come up with fun ways to feature the books I read instead of writing a full review. Sometimes it’s fun to get a little creative with it. But it’s not a big deal at all to not post reviews on your blog, it’s yours to do whatever you want with 🙂

  2. AMEN, SISTER! You’re not alone! I’ve been feeling that burnout for quite sometime as well. As much as I love to read and to blog about reading, I also have a full-time job, a family, friends who I want to spend time with. I want to have a life that consists of more than just this blog. So yeah, finding balance is key. Keeping that LOVE of reading and communicating is key. At the end of the day, blogging doesn’t pay the bills. This isn’t a job, so at some point, we have to draw the line when it starts to feel like one.

    I’ve realized that I will never have the time or enjoyment of posting every day, particularly when it comes to reviews. So I’ve cut back to posting about 2-3 times a week (usually 2), and to date, that’s been working for me. I also try to mix it up and post a variety of content on the blog and not to let myself feel pressured into reviewing each and every book that I read. It can definitely still be a challenge but the biggest hurdle is overcoming the pressure I put on myself. The stress and unhappiness just isn’t worth it. The friends that I’ve made because of my blog will understand and they won’t be going anywhere. So ultimately, you do what’s right for YOU and the rest of us are behind that. 🙂

  3. So many bloggers are confessing this lately, it seems! You’re the third or fourth person (including Jamie) who’s said something like this in the last week that I know of. I’ll say to you what I said to them – do what makes you happy! This is your space and on one can tell you what the right/wrong way to utilize it is 😀

  4. Sometimes I am right there with you. I notice if I don’t write the reviews I read MORE – and I will read non stop. When I’m forced to stop and think about and hash out what I read and how i liked or disliked it that sometimes puts me in a funk. There are times when I seriously consider not reviewing anymore but then I also realize there is a lot I like about it. I get to interact so much more with authors and I’ve made great friends. So I think I’m still in it for now and sometimes writing the reviews is still fun. I find I hate it when its a 3star lol.

Leave a Reply

