Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All-Time Favorite Contemporary Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. You’ve already heard plenty about my favorite genre, so today I’m talking contemporary, a genre that I don’t pick up as often. It’s really hard to please me when it comes to contemporary YA, but these ones pass the test with flying colors.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 8.44.54 PM

1. This Song Will Save Your Life, Leila Sales. I fell head-over-heels in love with TSWSYL.

2. Audrey, Wait!, Robin Benway. I picked up this one on a whim while browsing the library shelves after hearing a couple bloggers talk about it. It’s a must-read! I wish more people knew about it. Very funny and charming.

3. Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell. I think we all knew a Rainbow book would be making this list.

4. This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen. Just like we all knew I would mention a Dessen book. I usually go with my all-time fav, The Truth About Forever, but I’ve probably read This Lullaby just as many times. HATE SPINNERBAIT.

5. Angus, Thongs, and Full-frontal Snogging, Louise Rennison. These books will never not be funny to me.

6. Just One Day, Gayle Forman. One of the biggest signs of a hit contemporary is a character you can relate to, and boy, did I feel like Allyson was speaking for me.

7. Anna and the French Kiss, Stephanie Perkins. This book is the sweetest ever.

8. Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I remember reading this senior year of high school at the recommendation of a friend and being blown away.

9. Looking for Alaska, John Green. I didn’t really want to put a John Green book on this list, but I really do love this one. It was my introduction to his books and will always be my favorite.

10. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Ann Brashares. This series really went downhill fast, but I still love the first one.

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All-Time Favorite Contemporary Books

  1. Anna and the French Kiss was super adorable! I really liked Fangirl as well. Looking for Alaska made me cry, but I wouldn’t say it’s a favorite. And I’ve heard a lot of good things about This Song Will Save Your Life–I should pick it up soon! ❤

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

  2. I’ve only read one of the books on this list! (Anna)

    I love the Nick and Norah movie, but I think that’s made me fearful of reading the book; I don’t want to be disappointed if they’re super different.

    I need to check out Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging, because…that title!

    1. I only saw the Nick and Norah movie once a long time ago, so I can’t remember how different it is. But you should read the book anyway because it’s wonderful!

      The titles in that series get better and better. They’re laugh-out-loud funny books!

  3. Fangirl. *swoon* Love that book so much.
    I read Anna for the first time this year and really liked it! St. Clair is such a dreamboat. I prefer The Fault in Our Stars to Looking for Alaska and The Truth About Forever to This Lullaby, but still good choices!

Leave a Reply

