Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Gateway Books In My Reading Journey

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Time to see what’s at the top of my TBR list for the spring! As always, I’ve divided it into upcoming releases and books already published that I need to sit down and read already.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 7.46.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 7.59.14 PM

1. Howl’s Moving Castle, Diana Wynne Jones. DWJ is my favorite author of all time and having a librarian hand me this book changed everything. Not only did I want to browse the library shelves more (which is something I always did, but still), but reading her works opened up a gateway into other fantasy, like Robin McKinley.

2. This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen. My first Dessen book was actually Dreamland and I hated it. I think I was slightly too young for the heavy subject material, so it didn’t click. I can’t remember if, at the time I picked up This Lullaby, that I knew the author was the same or not, but reading This Lullaby created a life-long love for Dessen’s books.

3. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, J.K. Rowling. HP is the end-all, be-all. HP was my first fandom and my first obsession and I will literally never love anything like I love this series.

4. Legend, Marie Lu. This was the first book I reviewed on this blog and starting my blog got me more involved in the book blogging community. I’ve read so many books based on bloggers’ recommendations.

5. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Rick Riordan. PJO made me remember how I love to binge-read series and awoke my love of mythology.

6. Looking for Alaska, John Green. The book that introduced me to John Green is a gateway in a way.

7. I Am The Messenger, Markus Zusak. This book stunned me and made me remember that true talent really does exist.

8. The Thief, Megan Whalen Turner. Gen is basically my favorite male character of all time and this book was the start of my obsession with thieves.

9. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen. I liked a few required school books before, but once I read this one, I appreciated the classics a lot more. I’d like to read more.

10. The Scorpio Races, Maggie Stiefvater. Living proof that you should always give second chances. I thought Shiver was super lame, but The Scorpio Races astounded me. It’s unique and wonderful and I’m glad I took another chance on this author (especially since I love The Raven Boys now too).

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Gateway Books In My Reading Journey

Leave a Reply

