Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Uniqueness counts for a lot when it comes to books. Readers want to be surprised and awed. Here are ten that get the job done.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.10.00 PM

1. The Archived, Victoria Schwab. The premise of this one is just so freaking amazing and the execution is even better.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.10.58 PM

2. Cinder, Marissa Meyer. The author takes one of the most well-known stories and puts a completely unique spin on it. She also builds this amazingly detailed world around it so that you see the nods to its fairytale origin but still feel as though you’re reading something totally different.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.12.27 PM

3. Scarlet, A. C. Gaughen. If you haven’t read this book yet, then I have nothing more to say to you until you do.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.12.39 PM

4. Tiger Lily, Jodi Lynn Anderson. This is Peter Pan like you’ve never seen.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.13.22 PM

5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Laini Taylor. Angels and devils and an epic love story and gahhh I love this series.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.12.13 PM

6. Code Name Verity, Elizabeth Wein. The most breathtaking friendship I’ve ever read.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.11.17 PM

7. The Scorpio Races, Maggie Stiefvater. I know I just talked about this last week, but seriously. Water. horse. races.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.11.36 PM

8. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak. Having Death narrate is a unique choice as is, but the most original part of this story is just how human Death really is.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.11.54 PM

9. All Our Pretty Songs, Sarah McCarry. Seems like I’m really digging the retellings this week.

Screen Shot 2014-04-06 at 10.13.39 PM

10. The Thief, Megan Whalen Turner. Eugenides is the most unique fantasy character ever. You will love him. There’s no other choice.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. Ohhhh my GOSH I LOVE THIS LIST SO MUCH. You’ve like listed most of my favourite books and gaaaah, excuse me while I fangirl irrationally. Code Name Verity absolutely broke my heart. And The Scorpio Races introduced me to the awesomeness that is Maggie Stiefvater. I have Tiger Lily on my TBR (I feel kind of guilty for not having read it yet, actually. >.<) Narrated by Tinker Bell?? That is intensely cool. My TTT!

  2. If I did a top ten this week, Tiger Lily would definitely be on it! I’ll probably be checking out some if these books though – I love books that are considered unique!

  3. I also had Daughter of Smoke and Bone and The Book Thief on my list this week – both of them inarguably are very unique. 🙂 I still need to read Cinder, everyone has been telling me how great it is but I still haven’t read it even though I have it on my Kindle.. Shame on me, haha! Great list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

