Hype Machine {3}

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 8.20.28 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 8.33.19 PM

If you’re looking for a cute summer read with surprising depth, this is the book for you. I loved how, while there is romance, this is really about friendship and figuring out who you want to be. I loved how strong Dee and Reagan’s friendship was, even when they were going through tough times. It’s refreshing to see such a supportive female relationship. And Matt Finch…major sa-woon alert! He’s cotton candy sweet and exactly what Reagan needs.

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 8.34.56 PM

So Gaby was pushing The Archived on Twitter the other night, and I was like, hey I have this shiny signed copy just waiting to be opened! Also, I’ve decided Gaby is my book pusher to end all book pushers because she made me read Scarlet and Something Strange and Deadly and I loved both, so basically…girl knows what she’s talking about. Anyways, I dove in this weekend and now I’m obsessed. First off, I just loved the concept of a library full of dead bodies that store the people’s histories. Like, how freaking cool is that?! The world of The Archived is creepy and dangerous and full of secrets, so basically, everything I love. Also…there’s this guy Wes…he wears guyliner…and it’s pretty much the hottest thing ever.

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 8.36.00 PM

I don’t make comparisons lightly, because it can really mess with how a reader sees a book (for example, the worst comparison I’ve ever seen, where If I Stay was blurbed as “for fans of Twilight“). This one is going to have to be an exception because it’s the closest thing to The Perks of Being a Wallflower I’ve ever read. If you like one, I have a feeling you’ll like the other. I have to admit that Perks isn’t one of my favorite books, but I understand why is it some readers’ favorite. I can look at it and see how it speaks to people and how it’s a piece of art. The same can be said for Love Letters to the Dead. I don’t think I’ll ever read it again, but I can’t help but recommend it to everyone. It’s beautifully written and I think it will resonate with a lot of readers.

3 thoughts on “Hype Machine {3}

  1. I’ve heard so many good things about Love Letters to the Dead. I’ll definitely have to check that one out! Great post setup, by the way!

Leave a Reply

