Hype Machine {4}

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 8.20.28 PM

Screen Shot 2014-04-29 at 7.27.47 PM

Two words for you: WESLEY. AYERS. I’ve decided I’m madly in love with him. He can teach me how to line my waterline without crying like a baby, something I have yet to master. The best part of this sequel is that it takes the characters you know and love and adds so many other dimensions to them. Somehow they become more complete even while breaking apart. You know what else is unbound? My feels. They’re all over the damn carpet.

Screen Shot 2014-04-29 at 7.28.46 PM

This is my first Jenny Han book. One of my BFFs has been trying to get me to read The Summer I Turned Pretty since it came out basically and I’ve refused on the grounds that no one should go by the name Belly. But when I went to ALAMW, this was one of the most-anticipated ARCs so I grabbed a copy to give it a chance. Thank god for such good judgment because I freaking love this book. I can’t stop thinking about it and I WANT THE SEQUEL NOW, DAMMIT. I just want to reread it even though I just finished it. The romance is the adorable kind of slow-burn, starts-off-with-annoyance, opposites attract romance that I just adore. I ship it so hard, you guys. SO HARD. I love how the book itself is a love letter. It’s a love letter to the boy she didn’t know she wanted, the boy who turns out to be just right for her.

Screen Shot 2014-04-29 at 7.29.10 PM

I’m not going to lie…I may have teared up a bit opening this one. Diana Wynne Jones is my favorite author of all time and when she died I actually cried because she was a gift to fantasy and can never be replaced. I thought that would be the end, but then it was announced that her final book, completed by her sister, would be released. The Islands of Chaldea has all the magic and wonder that I love with a breathtaking, highly-imagined setting and characters you root for, ones who struggle with their doubts and fears and face them head-on. And of course, there’s the classic DWJ twist where everything comes together and you understand the puzzle you’ve been reading all along. This is a wonderful addition to her flawless collection of works and I can’t even explain what it means to me to take this final journey.

5 thoughts on “Hype Machine {4}

  1. I’ve got a chapter or two of All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and I just don’t want to finish it! I am a big fan of the Summer series and it makes me so happy that I love her new series because I’ve been hanging out for a new contemporary book by her for ages. So glad to hear you loved it! Now, to wait for the sequel…

  2. Wes is so freaking adorable, and I super, super loved him in The Unbound! ❤ I liked To All the Boys I've Loved Before as well, despite having a lot of issues with it.

Leave a Reply

