YA Prom 2014

Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 11.18.50 PM

So Alexa and Gaby had this fun idea to host a YA Prom and I knew I would want to join in. I totally didn’t go to my own prom because back in the day, I was all, I hate dancing whine whine whine. Now I’m a dance machine (by which I mean I like jumping up and down and screaming the lyrics to top 40 pop songs). So in a perfect, YA world, here’s what my prom night would look like.

Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 11.18.56 PM

The Dress: I love sparkly, flow-y things and of course I would want to wear a gown fit for a princess. This one is vintage Dior and also apparently museum quality, so at least I’m aiming the bar low.

The Shoes: I wanted something detailed to match the dress but also simple and elegant. I love the design on these.

The Purse: I needed some color and I love the little frog prince closure to add to the whole fairytale princess thing I’ve got going on.

The Hair: A princess needs a fabulous updo!

The Makeup: I love a smokey eye and I think this subtle, shimmery look is perfect.

Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 11.36.57 PM

The Date: Roar from the Under the Never Sky series. So I couldn’t find a picture that I thought looked like Roar, so I’m going with more of the look here than actual appearance. Roar can be smooth as fuck and I feel like he would totally be able to rock a bowtie and a well-tailored suit. Also, look at that guy’s smirk. Smirking is Roar’s default expression because he’s a clever, snarky, arrogant bastard. Roar is the perfect date because not only am I sure he’s an amazing dancer, but he’s also funny and charming and would be highly entertaining all night. Plus, he’s a badass and since we’re in a YA world, who knows how many times I’ll have to dodge attempted murder.

Screen Shot 2014-06-22 at 11.44.31 PM

The After-party: After we dance the night away, we’ll retire with a dozen of our closest friends at a swanky lake house. I love a good prom cliche and I feel like they always go to a lake house afterwards. Roar and I can chill in the hottub and then we can practice knife throwing on the docks.

14 thoughts on “YA Prom 2014

  1. The dress you choose is perfect and I am totally swooning over those shoes. I love your choice of Roar as your date…he stole my heart in that series.

  2. Total score on the after party!!! I’m crashing.
    I simply must get around to reading those books with Roar, I keep hearing about him.

  3. whoa. love those shoes. & Roar! I’ve been having this book & I NEED to read it. I will keep this picture in mind 🙂

  4. I VERY much approve of your awesome museum-quality vintage Dior. I thought I was aiming high! The hair is great – I’m really glad you also went with a princess-y theme. I haven’t read UTNS yet, but it’s sitting on my shelf and I’ll definitely have to get to it now.

Leave a Reply

