Book Review: The One by Kiera Cass

Title – Author: The One – Kiera Cass
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: May 6, 2014
Series/Standalone: Series – The Selection #3
Format – Source: Hardcover – Borrowed

America is still America-ing on and finally we find out who she picks. WARNING: HERE BE SPOILERS. 

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

A book review?! I know, I know, but I couldn’t in good conscience talk about this book in my Hype Machine feature. So regular readers will know that I haven’t had the best relationship with this series. Basically I think it’s crap and I can’t believe this is actually a bestseller. Like it literally boggles my mind. But then again, I did read the whole series…

So I’m going to start us off with some choice quotes and my commentary:

“Tonight I was taking down a man.” – America. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA A+ plan as usual, America.

“Please, America, you’ve said and done so many foolish things, I’m surprised you can even be embarrassed anymore.” – Maxon. HAHAHAHAHAHA Maxon, thank you for acknowledging how stupid America is.

“Was I destined to say the wrong thing, make the wrong choice?” – America. Yes, because you’re an idiot.

“As I passed from the second floor to the third, I noticed an earring on the floor. I couldn’t help but wonder if its owner was still alive.” – America. SO DEEP. YOU ARE SO THOUGHTFUL AND WISE.

There’s so much wrong with this series and it really doesn’t get any better with the final book. America is still annoying as hell, the rebels are still vague plot devices, the world still doesn’t make any sense, and the writing just isn’t very good. And the ending is so rushed. There’s a quick spat of violence that eliminates everyone in America’s way and makes it so she’ll never have to deal with any of the chronic problems she’s faced throughout the series. The whole time I was reading, I just couldn’t help but think how little I cared. Nothing about this series has made me feel attached or emotionally invested in any of the characters or what happens to them. Everyone could’ve died in an asteroid apocalypse like the dinosaurs and I would’ve considered that progress.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

The One lives up to the low expectations of the first two books. She did pick who I wanted her to pick, though, so I suppose that’s something.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM

3 – turns you to stone with its lack of depth or emotion – the basilisk

Basilisk

One thought on “Book Review: The One by Kiera Cass

  1. I completely agree with your views on The One. I honestly don’t understand why it has so much hype America Singer is by far the most FRUSTRATING character I have ever read about! I feel like she is the worst procrastinator! For half the series she talks about acting and doing things, instead of actually doing them! And her plans are beyond idiotic! Like you said I have no idea how on earth I stuck it through this whole series!

Leave a Reply

