Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Classics I Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. I always say I want to read more classics, and then I never do because my TBR resembles the leaning Tower of Pisa and I never get around to picking any up. PS. Want some classics recommendations? Check out Hannah from So Obsessed With’s feature, Consider This Classic!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-06-29 at 9.51.52 PM

1. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte. This is going to sound really pathetic, but Wuthering Heights has been on my list since Bella was blathering on about it in Twilight. 

2. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte. So I watched the movie with Michael Fassbender, because hello Michael Fassbender, but I’ve heard the novel is very different and I want to know the original story.

3. Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier. I had never heard of this book before Jamie recommended it to me as one I would like.

4. 1984, George Orwell. I love science fiction, so it’s surprising that I’ve never gotten around to this one.

5. Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury. There are so many references to this book in pop culture, so I’d like to know what everyone’s talking about.

6. Paradise Lost, John Milton. So maybe my angel obsession has everything to do with a certain Castiel, but I think I would really enjoy this one.

7. Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen. I adore Pride & Prejudice, but I’ve never read any other Austen novel. I feel like I need to remedy this.

8. Little Women, Louisa May Alcott. So this one made the list solely because they read it on Friends.

9. The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood. A co-worker recently recommended this book to me.

10. Peter Pan, J.M. Barrie. I honestly can’t believe I’ve never read this. I’ve seen so many versions of this in movie-form, but I’ve never heard the original story.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Classics I Want To Read

  1. You mentioned a ton of books that I’ve read and enjoyed: 1984, S&S, Rebecca, etc. Hmm, I forgot to add Paradise Lost on my list of classics I want to read, been meaning to get around to that book for ages…same goes for The Handmaid’s Tale (am such a bad Canadian, and it’s such a classic). Great list!

    My TTT

  2. I adore Sense and Sensibility, I’ve read it so many times (not as many as P&P though!) and I always enjoy it. Little Women is one of those books I’ve loved from childhood, I just keep going back to it. And I love the movie adaptations for both, definitely worth a watch after reading the books if you haven’t already seen them. I really want to read Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre, they’re not on my list this week because I was focusing on books I own and read/haven’t read. Great list! 🙂

    My TTT

  3. You heard Jane Eyre was really different from the Fassbender adaptation…interesting. Most JE scholars say the Fassbender movie was the closest one to the voice of the novel. Too many of the other adaptations (though excellent!) focus on the love story, when really JE is about her growth, her oppression as a child to express her emotions and thoughts to her liberation as an independent woman.

    Wuthering Heights is wonderful, but I hope you get the romantic notion that Bella had in Twilight out of the way. It IS a romance, but it’s base, animalistic, a study in social classes and humanity and expressing emotion. Gothic literature is all about one’s instincts, and no one does it better than Emily Brontë!

    S&S is wonderful. It’s one of Austen’s less satirical, more authentic novels. You should read Persuasion too!

  4. I haven’t read a lot of classics yet – it wasn’t really a thing in a Belgian high school. But I really like that list you’ve got there! And the picture with the parchment is a really nice toucfh.

Leave a Reply

