Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Blogging Confessions

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. I wasn’t going to do this week’s because I wasn’t sure I had anything to confess, but then I was all YOLO before work and decided to quickly write something up. Speaking of confessions…you can check out some of my reading ones here!

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

1. Blogging is no longer a priority for me. When I was unemployed, I needed something to keep me sane and blogging fulfilled that role. I loved being able to talk to everyone (since I didn’t get much interaction being at home all day) and I threw myself into this new hobby to fill my days. But now that I have a job, I just simply don’t have much time anymore. Any free time I do have, I want to spend it reading rather than blogging. It’s so funny how the way you see things can shift so quickly.

2. Reviews aren’t very fun for me anymore. When I first started this blog, I loved writing reviews. It was so nice to have an outlet to express my thoughts on what I read, since my friends are no where near my reading level frequency-wise and often have no idea what I’m talking about. But I got tired of it. Luckily, I started a new feature where I can gush about what I love reading.

3. I miss a lot on Twitter… I’m pretty good at multi-tasking, but it’s hard for me to keep up with everything during the day.

4….which makes me feel like I’m missing out on the book blogging experience. I’ll come into conversations late and not know what people are talking about or I’ll have something to say, but it’s hours later and everyone’s already moved on.

5. Sometimes I feel like I’m just not doing this right. I know, I know, there’s no right or wrong way to blog. But I see others’ success at this, how they can post multiple times a week, and I’m mystified! What are your secrets?!

6. I get blogging blocks. Sometimes I just don’t know what to write and it’s like I don’t know any words at all.

7. Sometimes I don’t get the hype. I’m sure this happens to everyone….a book is being hailed around the blogosphere as the next big thing and then I read it and I’m just not impressed. It never feels good when this happens.

8. I don’t get BookTube. So many people love it, but it’s just not for me!

9. Book club is the best thing to happen to me from blogging. I love my book club girls so much (Jamie, Betty, Lindsey, Katie)! It was a HUGE DEAL for me to reach out to Jamie (who I hadn’t even spoken to before on Twitter, let alone in real life) when I saw she was looking for book club members in my area. Now I’m so happy that we all got along and it worked out. I love how we all have different tastes and can talk about anything, not just books!

10. Sometimes I write these things at the last possible minute. 

 

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Blogging Confessions

  1. I love your confessions, Ellie! I had the opposite thing happen to me when I went back to work, though. I actually am more fiercely dedicated to making sure I stay on top of my blog now that I rarely have any free time. It’s like I’m in denial or something about working and losing all those hours I used to have during the day (I was a stay at home mom for 15 years). Now I can really only blog on the weekends so I try to use that time for my blog as much as I can.

  2. One thing that has helped me to post multiple times a week is to schedule things in advance…. that’s actually what my TTT is about this week!
    I think it’s really awesome that you are branching out from regular book reviews. It’s such a cool idea and it adds to the fabulousness that is your blog! 🙂

  3. I can relate to sooo many of these confessions! Blogging is also just not my priority anymore and I too am getting kind of sick of reviewing books. I’ve found that I’m just not always enjoying what I’m reading as much because I’m consistently thinking about my review. It’s nice to have my blog as my creative outlet but I’m to the point where I’m just not entirely sure that I want to keep blogging. However, I want to talk books and I don’t know many people who actually take the time to read. I’m incredibly torn.

    I’m terrible with Twitter. It bums me out because I see that so many bloggers become friends via Twitter, but I just don’t get it. It’s super hard to keep up with!

  4. I miss a lot on Twitter too (so you’re not alone!). I work full-time and I follow 1800+ people – there’s NO WAY to keep up, really. I do feel like I miss a lot of the conversations that then turn into blogging ‘things,’ so that’s a bummer… but I also know (some of!) my limits, and I can only do so much. I try to dust my shoulders off and move on. But yeah, it’s hard sometimes.

    Also, on booktubing: I can’t stand to watch the videos (I’m not much of a TV person either, to be quite honest), so I don’t get it either. And it makes me irrationally angry when people conflate vlogging/booktubing with book blogging. UGH.

    #10… ME TOO.

    Great list!

  5. I schedule to fit posts in, it takes away blogger guilt and stress, especially with a job. And when I get blogger block I use memes and discussion tags to get the ball rolling. I get annoyed sometimes that I can’t think of great original topics and don’t have the time to write them, but I can join in on the conversations and share my views using memes and tags for inspiration! I always tag the original post I spotted too!

    My TTT

  6. yay for book club!!
    i hear ya on the whole priority shift as things in life change. i was definitely more energized and focused on blogging last year at this time than right now. i blame it on the fetus growing in my belly. haha i’m tired, busy with the baby bettys and trying to sell our house. if i can’t post i’ve realized the world won’t end. 🙂
    i also feel that way on twitter sometimes too– which is why i no longer scroll down too far to see what i missed. i hop on… scroll down within the last hour or so and that’s it. i do use tweetdeck though so i have a somewhat small list of people whose tweets i don’t want to miss. yeah, you’re on it you dirty dawg!

  7. I haven’t watched much BookTube, but I think it can be cool if done in a humorous or interesting way. Sometimes I don’t get the hype either. Maybe because all the hype makes me so excited that there’s no possible way for the book to come through…

  8. I love your honesty. I think we all struggle with these things – at least sometimes. Particularly the shift in priorities that can leave blogging somewhere near the bottom of the list. I’ve always felt that blogging has to be something fun, or what’s the point? I don’t get paid for it. So if I’m not having fun it literally is just a waste of my time. I’ve been pretty good with posting regularly for the last year or so, but that’s atypical. Usually I lose interest for awhile at some point in the year and disappear for a few months. I know this will cost me readers – and I do feel a bit like I’m letting them down. But I’d like to think that they understand, and that I will be forgiven! So here’s one of your readers, telling you don’t sweat it. Do what makes you happy. We’ll be here whenever you decide to drop by.

Leave a Reply

