Something Strange and Deadly Playlist

When Alexa and Rachel asked me to write a blurb about why I love Susan Dennard’s Something Strange and Deadly series as part of their SS&D Surprise Party, I knew I had to say yes! This series is a must-read, people. I felt compelled to make a playlist to help celebrate the series because if any author deserves to be celebrated with music, it’s Susan! She’s always recommending awesome soundtracks that I listen to on repeat. You can listen to the playlist on Spotify here.

PS. Want to know why others love this series? Head on over to Alexa and Rachel’s blogs to join the party!

Screen Shot 2014-07-17 at 8.15.22 PM

1. Human, Daughter

Woken up like an animal
Teeth ready for sinking
My mind’s lost in bleak visions
I’ve tried to escape but keep sinking

And despite everything I’m still human

2. Warpath, Ingrid Michaelson

You got some magic touch
You got the hands to make ’em all buckle a rush
Blood runs fast, yeah you make it rush
I’m gonna live forever and it hurts so much

3. Things We Lost in the Fire, Bastille

I read them all one day
When loneliness came and you were away
Oh they told me nothing new,
But I love to read the words you used

(You said) we were born with nothing
And we sure as hell have nothing now

4. Hurricane, MS MR

Welcome to the inner workings of my mind
So dark and foul I can’t disguise
Can’t disguise
Nights like this
I become afraid
Of the darkness in my heart

5. Sound of Screams, Thumpers

If you want the sound of the screams
Talk to me in the forest 
Til they draw all the lines
Run into the river at night
Head ringing, watch your parents jumpin’ over the sides

6. We Might Be Dead By Tomorrow, Soko

Give me all your love now
‘Cause for all we know
We might be dead by tomorrow

I can’t go on wasting my time
Adding scars to my heart
‘Cause all I hear is
“I’m not ready now”

7. Angels, The xx

And everyday
I’m learning about you
The things that no one else sees
And the end comes too soon
Like dreaming of angels

And leaving without them

8. Devil’s Resting Place, Laura Marling

I woke up one morning to know that I had gone
Finally taken the step and jumped right off the wall
When you come to call on me that’s why my eyes are glazed
I’ve been with the devil in the devil’s resting place
I am loathed to say that I have been to stay

9. I Blame Myself, Sky Ferreira

How could you know what it feels like
To fight the hounds of hell?
You think you know me so well
How could you know what it feels like
To be outside yourself?

10. Shattered & Hollow, First Aid Kit

I am in love and I am lost
But I’d rather be
Broken than empty
Oh, I’d rather be
Shattered than hollow
Oh, I’d rather be
By your side

We are going to get out of here
Run from all the fears
Follow what we once held dear
When will we get out of here?

 

One thought on “Something Strange and Deadly Playlist

Leave a Reply

