Lola in Real Life: My Adventures in San Francisco

Hi there, Stephanie Perkins fans! When Jamie told me an Anna/Lola/Isla blog tour and readalong were in the works, I knew I wanted to jump on that train! I was late to the Perkins Party, having only read Anna after basically every book blog EVER raved about it. I instantly fell in love and couldn’t wait to get my hands on Lola. And then…the waiting started. I can’t imagine being one of those people who read these books when they came out and then had to wait forever for Isla. At least my wait was shorter! But the time has arrived.

I was tickled pink when my copy of Isla arrived early. I read it immediately in one sitting and loved it. It’s what we’ve been waiting for.

Credit: Meg from Cuddlebuggery

So for my blog post in the Lola tour, I decided to go the personal route. Setting plays a huge part in Stephanie’s books; she’s amazing at creating an authentic atmosphere that makes a reader feel as though they’re actually in Paris or San Francisco. While Lola is a native, I went there briefly as a tourist as part of a graduation trip with my college roommate and her parents and wanted to share my experience! During the trip, we went to several places (SF, Monterey, Cambria, and Yosemite) and all were amazing, but we started off in San Francisco.

The Food

Of course I’m starting with food. Because seriously…San Francisco is where it’s at. I feasted like the gods when I was there.

Screen Shot 2014-08-09 at 10.30.46 AM

Fortune cookies – Look how cool they look being made! We went to a famous fortune cookie place in Chinatown that was down this sketchy alley. But they were delicious!

La Taqueria – Delicious tacos in the Mission district. I also had a watermelon drink here that was so yummy.

flour + water – I had the margherita pizza, which is my favorite, but they have homemade pasta and other perfect Italian dishes!

The Buena Vista – This bar/cafe was right by our hotel, so we stopped for drinks. I had a Pimm’s cup for the first time ever and now it’s my favorite drink of all time. Sadly, bars rarely have Pimm’s, so I must suffer.

Screen Shot 2014-08-09 at 10.39.33 AM

And now for the BEST MEAL I’VE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE.

Seven Hills – NO SERIOUSLY GO HERE. First, we got a bottle of white wine that was the best wine I’ve ever had. We liked it so much that my friend’s mother wrote down the name and then ordered some when we got home. I think we got appetizers but it’s all a food-coma blur. I had two pastas: the gnocchi pictured above and a pesto one. Both were to die for. They make the pasta in house. Then I had some amazing ice cream to finish it off.

The Sights

Screen Shot 2014-08-09 at 10.49.45 AM Screen Shot 2014-08-09 at 10.48.34 AM

There’s so much to see and do in this city! We walked along the Golden Gate bridge, which I loved because I love things that are up high. We drove around the city, including down the famous Lombard Street. Also, I thought Pittsburgh had bad hills…I was so naive. We went to the Ferry Building Marketplace and had coffee and fresh bakery goods and found a cute little bookstore. We went to the gorgeous Japanese Tea Garden. Everything was so lush and green.

Basically I love San Francisco and am dying to return.

Let’s chat! Have any of you been to San Francisco? Have any favorite eateries/local secrets/fun things to do? Sound off in the comments!

Ready for some more Anna/Lola/Isla posts? Here’s the schedule for the blog tour (copied from Cuddlebuggery):

Anna and the French Kiss

7/31 – Paper Riot (Anna Readalong Kick-Off)
8/01 – Novel Sounds
8/04 – The Book Addict’s Guide
8/05 – Alexa Loves Books
8/06 – A Bookish Sinister Kid

Lola and the Boy Next Door
8/07 – Cuddlebuggery (Lola Readalong Kick-Off) + GReads!
8/08 – Novel Thoughts
8/09 – Book Revels
8/12 – Rather Be Reading
8/13 – Finding Bliss in Books

Isla and the Happily Ever After
8/14 – The Perpetual Page-Turner (Isla Readalong Kick-Off)
8/15 – AndiABCs
8/18 – Writer of Wrongs
8/19 – Anna Reads
8/20 – Good Books and Good Wine

Leave a Reply

