Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Series I Want To Start

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Even though I often recommend standalone books, I still always meander back to series. I can’t help it…I love to watch characters grow and obsess over when the next book comes out. I’m in the middle of so many series, but because I love to torture myself, here are ten more I want to start. And I’m taking liberties with the topic this week…it’s supposed to be series from the last 2 years, but I’m just doing any series.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM


Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 8.57.02 PM

 

1. Riders of the Apocalypse, Jackie Morse Kessler. This series has been in my TBR since I won a set on Twitter. It sounds gritty and dark and awesome.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 8.58.59 PM

 

2. The Ascendance Trilogy, Jennifer A. Nielsen. Danger, plots, orphans? Sounds right up my alley.

 

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.00.47 PM

 

3. Mistborn, Brandon Sanderson. I’ve seen a bunch of people raving about this series recently and I’m always up for more high fantasy.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.01.16 PM

 

4. Slated, Teri Terry. Betty has been yelling at book club to read this one for ages. I bought a copy, but I still haven’t gotten around to it.

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.02.21 PM

 

5. Heist Society, Ally Carter. This series sounds light and funny.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.06.00 PM

 

6. Mara Dyer, Michelle Hodkin. My friend keeps telling me to read this. She says I’ll love it, and from the blurb, I agree!

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.07.51 PM

 

7. Cahill Witch Chronicles, Jessica Spotswood. I haven’t read a witch book in a long time and I’ve got a craving for a good one.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.08.27 PM

 

8. Newsflesh, Mira Grant. Zombie politcal thriller? Sounds fascinating and scary.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.10.24 PM

 

9. The Kingkiller Chronicle, Patrick Rothfuss. One of my friends recommended this back in college and I still haven’t gotten to it yet. Another high fantasy must-read apparently.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.11.13 PM

10. The Iron Fey, Julie Kagawa. I love fey/fairy stories and this one has been on my radar for ages.

***

Let’s Chat! Which series do you think I should pick up first? Any new releases series-wise that you think should be on my radar (since I couldn’t think of any)?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Series I Want To Start

  1. YES YES YES I can not tell you enough that The Newsflesh Trilogy is the best thing EVER. They were the first books I’ve read this year, and not even Heir of Fire has toppled it from being the best books I’ve read this year. Well I don’t know. They might be equivalent, that’s a tough one. I bow down to Queen Sarah J. Maas in all matters. So you get my point. They’re that good.

    My TTT

  2. MISTBOOOORRRRN! YEESSS! Favorite series ever (after Chaos Walking :D)!!!! Be prepared for lots of feels ;D

    I haven’t read The Kingkiller Chronicle either but I really want to! Everyone who I asked about fantasy book recommandations mentioned it. I just think it’s better t wait until we at least have a release date for book three. Seems like it takes forever for him to write that book and I don’t want to wait years between books 😀

  3. I have read the first two Heist society books and enjoyed them a lot! (Ally carter is one of my favorite authors!) I need to read the third book! Hope you love it! 🙂

  4. I’ve been wanting to start the Iron Fey series as well (the covers are gorgeous). I’ve seen Heist Society on a LOT of lists today, and I had never given it a lot of though before because it looked kind of fluffy, but I think I should check it out! Great list 🙂 My TTT

Leave a Reply

