Hype Machine {7}

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 8.20.28 PM

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.32.54 PM

I loved The 5th WaveI thought it read like a movie in a good way. Nonstop action and heart-wrenching moments with flawed, dynamic characters. The Infinite Sea brings all of that to a new level. I loved every second of it. I fell even more in love with the characters from the first book and welcomed the newcomers with open arms. Particularly Razor, because damn boy. The book introduces new POVs, like Ringer’s, who I basically can’t even speak of because I’m so overcome with the feels. I usually don’t like switching POVs, but it just works in these books. This is a blockbuster series that you just don’t want to miss. And naturally, the ending made me want to time jump into the future so I could find out what happens next. Speaking of time jumping…

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.33.19 PM

…I finally got around to reading All Our Yesterdays and I loved it! I was dying for a time travel book and this one hit the spot. I didn’t know how everything was going to work out, and I loved how the story unfolded piece by piece. There’s tragedy here and danger and real stakes.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.52.48 PM

I don’t even know how to describe why I love this book so much. It’s incredible. Straight up incredible. There’s a reason it’s won all the big awards. The scope of the world and of the story is just awe-inspiring. I know, I’m dropping a whole lot of platitudes here, but I really don’t feel smart or clever enough to accurately describe this book. So all I can say is this: read it. Read it now.

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 9.33.42 PM

 

Oh, man. Where do I begin with this book? It’s been five long years (she says, wagging her finger and rocking her rocking chair) since this series began and I can’t believe it’s actually over. There have been different combinations of POVs in each book and the best part of this one is that Reyna and Nico get to narrate. My love for them both grew so much in this book and I’m so happy Rick chose to use their POVs. After this book, I feel like they’re my favorite characters in the series now. Well, after Percy, but I feel like my favoritism towards Percy is a sort of nostalgia. Like, we’ve been through so much together, you know? Ten books worth of words. Something I really enjoy about these two series is that Percy and Jason aren’t really the heroes of the great prophecies. Yes, they’re heroes, but when it comes to the final choices that save the world, the sons of the most powerful gods aren’t the ones who do it. The heroes who are overlooked and underestimated are the ones who make all the difference in the world. Also, I love how Rick included a little hint about his Norse series. Tricksy Uncle Rick. (Or at least I’m assuming it was a hint. I could be totally wrong.)

2 thoughts on “Hype Machine {7}

Leave a Reply

