Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This is always the hardest TTT. This year I actually had trouble coming up with 10 books…I guess I just didn’t read as much this year that truly blew me away.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.37.16 PM

10. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, Jenny Han. I enjoyed this book so much that I read it twice this year. It was just so cute and adorable and I loved the romance. But I also loved how this is just as much a story about sisters and family. I’m dying for the sequel even though I’m worried about the ship.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.38.08 PM

9. The Young Elites, Marie Lu. This is a hard book to get into, but I knew that going into it. I mean a villain origin story? There’s bound to be some gray areas. I really applaud Marie for going for it and not holding anything back. Adelina is a tough character to read. She’s frustrating and selfish and broken. But ultimately I loved this world and I want to know her whole story.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.38.42 PM

8. Blue Lily, Lily Blue, Maggie Stiefvater. I’m not known for being coherent when it comes to these books. Who knew I would ever love a group of friends so much? While not a lot happens plot wise in this book, a ton happens relationship wise. Blue and the raven boys get closer and closer with each book. I’m terrified of how Maggie’s going to end this series. | My Review

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.39.13 PM

7. Clariel, Garth Nix. I’ve literally waited 10 years for this book. This is another one where the main character is hard to read. You can sense the darkness within her. It was hard to start this when I knew how her story would end, but I was still surprised at how she got to that point. Basically I’ll read anything Abhorsen-related.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.51.47 PM

6. Vicious, V.E. Schwab. I seem to be into morally gray characters this year. This book is phenomenal. You’ll find yourself sympathizing with psychopaths left and right while reading this one. This world is dark and gritty and one you’ll be thinking about for ages after turning the last page.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.52.14 PM

5. The Infinite Sea, Rick Yancey. Rick Yancey doesn’t disappoint in this sequel to his blockbuster The 5th Wave. I found myself even more in love with all the characters while reading this one. I loved the addition of Ringer’s narrative; she was one of my favorites from the first book. The feels are strong with this one.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.52.44 PM

4. Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie. This is hands down the best science fiction novel I’ve ever read. There’s a reason it basically won every award ever last year. It’s brilliant and innovative and clever and I just want everyone to read it. The only reason it didn’t rank higher in this list is because I read a lot of sequels this year that I was emotionally invested in, so they got the top spots. If we were talking critically, in terms of writing and plot and world-building, this would be my number 1 pick of 2014.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.53.22 PM

3. Mortal Heart, Robin LaFevers. I had a rocky start with this series, but once I read the second book I was hooked. Mortal Heart blows them both out of the water. It’s just that good. I loved Annith and I loved seeing the three sisters together at last. | My Review

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.53.44 PM

2. Lady Thief, A.C. Gaughen. I’m still crying about this one. Like dear god, my heart is just broken and all I want is for Rob and Scar to be happy forever and ever and ever. This series will tug at your heartstrings and crush your soul. You need to read it. Period.

And the winner is…

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 8.54.05 PM

1. Heir of Fire, Sarah J. Maas. This is one of those rare series where each book is so much better than the last. The character growth! The friendship! THE WYVERNS. The ironteeth witches! I just feel like the only way to talk about this one is to yell about it. The second I put it down, I wanted to read it all over again. | My Review

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

  1. Great choices! I have not read all of these, but they are all on my TBR. I did read To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han in the summer and loved every second of it 🙂 – Maria

  2. I love the way that you have presented your TTT :-). You’ve mentioned so many books that I WANT to read! – I especially want to read The Heir of Fire series and all of Jenny Han’s books!
    Here’s to more great reads in 2015 😀

Leave a Reply

