2014 End Of Year Survey

Credit: Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 10.34.09 AM

Number Of Books You Read: 75 (I had to count by hand because I had marked a bunch of books on the GR app and they don’t include a date read there, so annoying)
Number of Re-Reads: around 14
Genre You Read The Most From: probably fantasy

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 10.34.33 AM

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?

Heir of Fire, Sarah J. Maas. So many emotions, so many beloved characters.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

The Winner’s Curse, Marie Rutkoski. I did really enjoy this one and I know I’m going to finish the series, but this sounded right up my alley and I thought I was going to be blown away, but I wasn’t.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014?

Ignite Me, Tahereh Mafi. I’ve had a hard time with the series and I honestly wasn’t expecting much from this book. I hated the first one, liked the second one, and then loved the third one.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?

Not sure I have one for this question. Maybe the Throne of Glass series.

5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?

Series I started in 2014: The Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer

Best sequel of 2014: Lady Thief, A. C. Gaughen

Best series ender of 2014: Strange and Ever After, Susan Dennard

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?

Victoria Schwab. I’ve loved every book I’ve read that she’s written.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie. I love science fiction, but it’s been a while since I’ve read an adult book.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Dangerous Girls, Abigail Haas. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this one as much as I did, but I read it in one sitting. It’s batshit crazy.

9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Heir of Fire, Sarah J. Maas. I’m dying to reread the whole series.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Rowan Whitethorn, Heir of Fire. I’m just so in love with him, you guys. All of the new characters in HOF were memorable, but I can’t get Rowan out of my head.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

We Were Liars, E. Lockhart. You can feel Cadence’s pain with each word.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?

Thought-Provoking: Not A Drop To Drink, Mindy McGinnis. This one really makes you think about what you would do in this situation and all the morally gray areas surrounding just trying to survive.

Life-Changing: The Islands of Chaldea, Diana Wynne Jones. This one is life-changing for me because Diana is my favorite author of all time and this is her last novel (published posthumously and finished by her sister). I still can’t believe that I’ll never read new words of hers again.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read?

Cinder, Marissa Meyer. This series is so popular with bloggers, so I heard about it long before I finally picked it up. So glad I did…I love this series and I’m dying to see how she ends in all.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?

This Song Will Save Your Life, Leila Sales.

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 7.08.35 PM
16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2014?

Shortest: Four: A Divergent Story Collection, Veronica Roth, 208 pages

Longest: Dreams of Gods and Monsters, Laini Taylor, 613 pages

17. Book That Shocked You The Most
(Because of a plot twist, character death, left you hanging with your mouth wide open, etc.)

Dangerous Girls, Abigail Haas. I had no idea how it would end until the big reveal. I kept going back and forth about who did it.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Rob and Scar, Lady Thief. All I want is for them to be happy and together, is that so much to ask?!

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Celaena and Rowan. Ughhhh I want to cry just thinking about these two.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Blue Lily, Lily Blue, Maggie Stiefvater. I just can’t get enough of Blue and the boys.

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure

Burn for Burn, Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian. My friend is a big Jenny Han fan and she’s been trying to get me to read the Summer series for years, but I finally caved on this one and ended up loving it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Rowan Whitethorn. Maybe I should just put Rowan/HOF for every question.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

Open Road Summer, Emery Lord. This is a great contemporary with an amazing female friendship.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie. This universe is so complex and nuanced.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Unmade, Sarah Rees Brennan. There’s definitely a lot of dark stuff in this series, but her dialogue is so witty and clever that I actually laughed out loud a few times.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?

Strange and Ever After, Susan Dennard. That. Ending.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Cruel Beauty, Rosamund Hodge. I heard some buzz about this one but not a lot and after its release, it kind of disappeared. It’s my favorite fairytale retelling in a while though.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Lady Thief, A.C. Gaughen. Lots of crying.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?

The Young Elites, Marie Lu. We really don’t see a lot of villain origin stories these days.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Ruin & Rising, Leigh Bardugo. There was just so much going on that I didn’t want to happen and I have a major issue with the ending and the romance. I was hoping to love this one but alas, it was not meant to be.

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 10.35.04 AM

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014?

I honestly don’t know! I haven’t been doing a lot of exploring in the book blog community recently. Do you guys have any recommendations for blogs I HAVE to check out?

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014?

So I stopped writing regular reviews earlier this year, but I still had a few go up since then. My favorite is probably my Blue Lily, Lily Blue review because it’s not really a review, just a list of things that I like to yell excitedly about.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

My post about rereading cravings got some really great, thoughtful comments.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

ALAMW with book club was lots of fun. It was such a chill conference and we just spent our time leisurely strolling around the exhibits. YALLFEST was much crazier and I found that I wasn’t a big fan of the conference itself, but I fell madly in love with Charleston so I’m so happy I got to visit that city.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

Meeting Sarah Dessen at YALLFEST. It was a five second meeting as she signed my books, but she’s my favorite YA author of all time, so it was just thrilling to be in the same room as her.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

This one’s a repeat: 25 Standalone Books To Read After Series Burnout.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Any of my non-TTT posts!

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Book Outlet! I heard people mention it before, but when their big Black Friday sale came up, I just had to make a purchase. I got a mix of books I’ve been wanting to read forever and some that I’ve already read but wanted to own and they were all so cheap! I’ll definitely be ordering again in the future.

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I didn’t really set any goals, so I don’t have an answer for this one. Next year I’m doing a reread challenge, though, so hopefully that will go well!

Screen Shot 2014-11-30 at 10.35.26 AM

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?

Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie. I ran out to B&N to get this on its release day, but then other books caught my attention.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?

The next Throne of Glass book. Sarah just about killed me with the ending to HOF. Also Sarah Dessen’s newest, Saint Anything. 

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir. A fantasy set in a Rome-like world? Hells yeah!

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?

Lion Heart for sure. Also, the last 5th Wave book.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?

I definitely want to reread more. Blogging-wise, maybe publish more original content and less review-style posts.

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone

A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J. Maas. She’s done it again, folks.

3 thoughts on “2014 End Of Year Survey

  1. Yay for the Throne of Glass series! I think I’ve pushed sooo many people around me to pick this series up! It’s just so ah-mazing, the world and plot is really well- built and the characters- the characters are absolutely wonderful (and totally kickass!) I could fan girl about this series all day!

    Oh btw! As for discovering new-ish book blogs, you should check out booksandicedcoffee.com 😉 See you there!

  2. I’m loving reading the answers to the survey, I’ve found so many great new books to add to my TBR this way. I LOVED Heir of Fire, but I’ve loved everything by Sarah J. Maas that I’ve read, she never disappoints. The wait for the next book is killing me. Dangerous Girls was a book I read in one sitting too, I just couldn’t put it down and I just had to see how it would end. We Were Liars!!! I should have used that for the most beautifully written too, I just completely forgot! I loved Not a Drop to Drink and that was the most thought-provoking read for me too. As for blogs you should check out, I’m not sure what you already read, but I listed a few for mine and I recommend them all. Great answers 🙂 I recently did the survey myself, which you can find here if you want to check it out.

  3. Apparently I need to read the Throne of Glass series ASAP.

    Gaughen’s SCARLET trilogy — a question. I opened the first book and found the language jarring. Do you get used to it over time? I’ve met the author before and it sounds so lovely, this book. Plus, Robin Hood. Come on. What do you think?

    Haven’t heard AN EMBER IN THE ASHES yet! Will add to my TBR.

Leave a Reply

