Finnikin of the Rock Revisited

I read Finnikin of the Rock so long ago, but I never completed the series. Finally, I decided to just go for it, but I wanted to reread Finnikin before completing the series. I honestly think I liked it even more in the second read.

*WARNING: HERE BE SPOILERS. LIKE MAJOR SPOILERS.*

 

Favorite Quote

“And when Finnikin grabbed her to him and buried his face in her neck and then bent down and placed his mouth on hers, the others pretended that there was something very interesting happening in the meadow. The priest-king even pointed at the nothing they were pretending to see. But Froi didn’t. He just watched the way Finnikin’s hands rested on Evanjalin’s neck and he rubbed his thumb along her jaw and the way his tongue seemed to disappear inside her mouth as if he needed a part of her to breathe himself. And Froi wondered what Evanjalin was saying against Finnikin’s lips when they stopped because whatever the words were it made them start all over again and this time their hunger for each other was so frightening to watch that it made Froi look away.” – Page 247

Favorite Character

HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO CHOOSE? Finnikin, Isaboe, Froi, Trevanion, Beatriss, Perri, Tesadora, Lucian…I’m full of love for every single person.

Favorite Scene

The big reveal when we find out who Evanjalin is. It builds so amazingly in just a couple of pages and it hits you like a punch. Also, it’s a small scene, but I can never get out of my head the moment when Finnikin mercy kills Seranonna. It’s basically the epitome of his character, and shows how utterly flawless Melina Marchetta is at characterization.

Why I Love This Book In One Sentence

Finnikin of the Rock is an emotional, human story with a diverse and complex cast.

3 thoughts on “Finnikin of the Rock Revisited

  1. I didn’t read your review except up to the part where you said there were going to be major spoilers. I just scrolled right on down to leave you a comment to let you know. LOL! I’ve been wanting to read this book, so I’ll come back later when I’ve finished the book and then I’ll read your review. Thanks so much for sharing! Haze @ Haze in a Happy Daze

Leave a Reply

