Hype Machine {9}

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 8.20.28 PM

Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 8.54.30 PM

I’m not going to lie…I didn’t read the jacket for this one and went into it thinking it was a story about superpowers. Thank goodness I caught on pretty quickly. This one has a slow start, but oh baby is it worth it. I was so caught up in all the different characters’ stories. In this case, multiple POVs work so well because you get a bunch of different perspectives on a really terrible situation. The multiple POVs also humanize all of the main characters. I could see myself hating some of them if the entire story had been told from Melanie’s point of view, but this way I came to understand how and why they acted the way that they did. Don’t let anyone spoil the ending for you…when you get there, it’ll be a holy crap! moment. This story is one you’ll be thinking about for a while after turning that last page.

Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 8.55.50 PM

I read Finnikin of the Rock years ago and I think at the time I just wasn’t ready for such a story. I finally decided to finish out the series this year, so I reread Finnikin and found myself loving the story so much more the second time around. Finnikin is kind of the prequel to the main story that takes place in Froi and Quintana. This series is one of the most epic, complex, nuanced fantasy series I’ve ever read. I can’t recommend it enough. You will cry buckets of tears from all the things these characters will make you feel.

Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 8.57.31 PM

I can’t believe it took me so long to pick up Seraphina. Though actually now that I think about it, I’m glad I did wait because now I can jump right into the sequel, which I wanted to do as soon as I finished. Seraphina is a lovely story. The world is so beautifully drawn and I felt acutely how Seraphina didn’t feel she would ever find her place in the world. She’s closed herself off from everyone (with good reason), but I loved seeing her open up to her friends slowly. She’s extraordinary, and she’s already changing the world. I can’t wait to see what she does next.

5 thoughts on “Hype Machine {9}

Leave a Reply

