His Dark Materials Revisited

His Dark Materials is one of my favorite series, and I finally decided to reread it. As always, there are spoilers in this post.

      

 

Favorite Quote

“I’ll be looking for you, Will, every moment, every single moment. And when we do find each other again, we’ll cling together so tight that nothing and no one’ll ever tear us apart. Every atom of me and every atom of you… We’ll live in birds and flowers and dragonflies and pine trees and in clouds and in those little specks of light you see floating in sunbeams… And when they use our atoms to make new lives, they wont’ just be able to take one, they’ll have to take two, one of you and one of me, we’ll be joined so tight…” – The Amber Spyglass

Favorite Character

Lyra Silvertongue. There are so many things that these stories are about: love, good versus evil, humanity, choices, sacrifice, wisdom, open-mindedness, destiny. But at the heart of everything is the story of a girl growing up. Lyra makes terrible mistakes. She’s cocky, dishonest, and rough. But she’s also charming, loyal, and loves with her entire heart. She makes everyone, from the king of the bears to a witch queen, love her and she has the same effect on the reader.

Favorite Scene

When Lyra has to leave Pan on the shores of the lake of the dead and sail away from him. This is the most brutal sacrifice and heart-wrenching scene of the story and Lyra makes the sacrifice because she has to. Her strength of character makes my heart cry.

Why I Love This Series In One Sentence

His Dark Materials is a series that tackles complex questions against an epic background with characters you can’t help but love.

4 thoughts on “His Dark Materials Revisited

  1. I am absolutely in love with this series. I’m warms my heart to see every now and then a post like this. I appreciate it so very much! . Ughh that feeling Lyra had being separated from Pan still breaks my heart. Also my favorite characters Serafina Pekkala & the aeronautics Lee Scoresby. This series is sheer brilliance and should be revered as much more than an MG book. Great job!!
    ❤️Britt @ please feed the bookworm

Leave a Reply

