Book Review: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Title – Author: The Wrong Side of Right – Jenn Marie Thorne
Publisher: Dial
Release Date: March 17, 2015
Series/Standalone: Standalone
Format – Source: ARC – Publisher

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be. (via Goodreads)

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

This book reminded me so much of one of my favorites growing up: All-American Girl by Meg Cabot. In a good way! It gave me this warm, nostalgic feeling.

My favorite part of the story were the relationships. I’m a sucker for family drama and I loved how Kate built unique relationships with every member of her new-found family. The situation isn’t easy for any of them, but they try to work on it and make the best of something that blind-sided them all. Kate’s father, stepmother, siblings, and grandmother all reacted differently to finding out about Kate and I loved how she slowly fostered relationships with all of them.

Kate is thrust into a world she knows nothing about, and I appreciated how she didn’t just automatically fit in. She’s told to act, speak, and look a certain way, and she chafes against these new rules even as she tries so hard to please everyone. She makes mistakes and balances between her old life and her new one. Her two worlds don’t line up and she finds herself torn. I loved how she didn’t just abandon the people she loved in the past just because she had a new, shiny family.

I found this book to be compulsively readable – I honestly couldn’t put it down. I was so invested in Kate’s life and her new family. Plus, she meets a cute boy who sneaks her into concerts, so I was totally sold on that front.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

The Wrong Side of Right is a political drama with a heartfelt, sincere narration and a flawed heroine you can’t help but like.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s