Blog Tour: The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne + Giveaway

WrongSideofRight-blogtour

Welcome to the final stop on The Wrong Side of Right campaign tour: DC!
Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

If you read my review last month, you know I loved this contemporary political drama, so I’m thrilled to welcome Jenn to the blog today with an interview! Before we get to the Q&A, here’s more about the book:

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

And now…please welcome Jenn Marie Thorne!

1. Describe your book in 3 words.

Family, romance, politics

2. One of the things I loved the most about THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT were all the different family relationships. What are some of your favorite literary families?

The Marches (Little Women), because they’re so wild and warm and real. The Glasses (Franny & Zooey), who remind me so much of my best friends’ families, growing up. The Cuthberts (Anne of Green Gables), because of their earthy honesty, generosity and growth. And the Starks (A Game of Thrones, et al). Poor Starks.

3. The Wrong Side of Right reminded me a lot of one of my favorite books growing up, All-American Girl by Meg Cabot. It also reaffirmed how much I love political dramas! What was the inspiration behind writing about a political family?

The idea occurred to me after hearing news stories about political sex scandals that barely mentioned the children who had resulted from these affairs. I wondered what the story would feel like from their perspective. I also felt like the political arena was fertile ground for a YA novel—the pressure to be perfect, the glare of the national lens—but it hadn’t been done very much before. So I gave it a go.

4. Who are your top three favorite YA heroines?

This is a tough one! I’m going to cop out and put a disclaimer here that THIS IS NOT A DEFINITIVE LIST! Okay, phew. Now that I’ve said that…Alina Starkov (Shadow and Bone), Queenie (Code Name Verity) and Fire (Fire). Three really different ladies, but each incredibly brave and vulnerable and capable.

5. Kate gets to travel all over the US with her father’s campaign. What are your must-see US spots? 

I’ve road tripped extensively and lived all over the country, so I have loads of recommendations! Some of my personal favorite stops are Charleston, South Carolina, Key West, Yosemite National Park (the whole Pacific Coast, really), Park City, Utah, and the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando. (I mean, come on. It’s amazing.)

6. The Wrong Side of Right is your debut novel. What other debuts have you read recently and loved?

I’ve been lucky enough to get my hands on a ton of amazing debut ARCs this year, too many to list here. I was really blown away by CONVICTION, by Kelly Loy Gilbert, a powerful family drama with a mystery at its core, unspooled by an unreliable narrator. Virginia Boecker’s THE WITCH HUNTER was a perfect summer fantasy novel, so much fun I didn’t want it to end. And BLOOD AND SALT by Kim Liggett is a unique blend of horror and romance, by turns eerie, hilarious and heartbreaking, and addictive throughout.

7. What’s the best writing advice you’ve ever received? 

You hear “writers write” a lot, and that’s certainly important, but I like “writers read” even better. You can’t create output without steady input—and you absolutely must read widely both within and outside of your own genre before setting pen to paper. If your passion for books isn’t strong enough to make reading a priority in your life, I suggest you think really hard about why you want to write a book in the first place!

Jenn Marie Thorne writes YA fiction from her home in beautiful Gulfport, Florida, alongside her dashing husband, her two daring toddlers, and her trusty hound Molly. An NYU-Tisch grad with a BFA in Drama, Jenn still enjoys making a fool of herself on at least a weekly basis. Other hobbies include writing about herself in the third-person, studying classical voice, learning languages, and traveling the world with her family.

Her debut novel, THE WRONG SIDE OF RIGHT, was released March 17, 2015 from Dial Books for Young Readers (Penguin).

Full Tour Schedule: 

3/17 – Candace’s Book Blog – WA
3/19 –The Reading Nook Reviews – Sacramento, CA
3/23 – The Reading Date – Los Angeles, CA
3/25 – Mostly YA Book Obsessed – AZ
3/27 – Gone With the Words – TX
3/30 – YA Bibliophile – WI
4/1 – Coming at YA – SC
4/3 – The Reader Bee – TN
4/6 – Into The Hall of Books – NC
4/8 – Ticket to Anywhere – MA
4/10 – Lost in Literature – CT
4/13 – Effortlessly Reading – NYC
4/15 – No BS Book Reviews – MD
4/17 – Book Revels – DC

Giveaway:

5 winners will each receive a signed copy of the book, a campaign button, and a bookmark, courtesy of Penguin! Just click on the image below to enter.

Screen Shot 2015-04-16 at 6.52.12 PM

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s