Book Review: The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey

Title – Author: The Girl at Midnight – Melissa Grey
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: April 28, 2015
Series/Standalone: Series – The Girl at Midnight #1
Format – Source: e-ARC – Publisher via NetGalley

For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.  (via Goodreads)

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

This is one of the rare books where the “x meets x” line in the description actually fits. Though I would say it’s more Daughter of Smoke and Bone than Shadow and Bone. 

I couldn’t put this one down I was racing through it so quickly. Echo is an immediately likable character. She’s bold, brave, funny, loyal, and vulnerable but she still makes mistakes. She doesn’t hesitate when her adopted people, the bird-like Avicen, are in danger. She does whatever she can to end their war with dragon Drakharin so that no more lives are lost. The scope of her world expands so quickly, but Echo rises to the challenge.

I also loved all of the other characters as well. We get to see into multiple viewpoints and each one brought a unique take to the overall story. Though they all have different backgrounds and motives (plus years of hatred between them), they started to feel like a family by the end of the novel. They grow to care for each other despite their differences.

The banter is the best part of the novel, though. There are so many good quips. It reminded me a lot of Sarah Rees Brennan’s Lynburn series. Echo and Kami would get along so well.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

The Girl at Midnight is a promising start to a new series that’s sure to up the romance, action, and witty banter with the next installment.

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review: The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s