Book Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs

Title – Author: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks – Sam Maggs
Publisher: Quirk Books
Release Date: May 12, 2015
Series/Standalone: Standalone
Format – Source: Hardcover – Publisher

Fanfic, cosplay, cons, books, memes, podcasts, vlogs, OTPs and RPGs and MMOs and more—it’s never been a better time to be a girl geek. The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy is the ultimate handbook for ladies living the nerdy life, a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom. With delightful illustrations and an unabashed love for all the in(ternet)s and outs of geek culture, this book is packed with tips, playthroughs, and cheat codes for everything from starting an online fan community to planning a convention visit to supporting fellow female geeks in the wild. (via Goodreads)

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

I don’t usually review nonfiction, but as I self-proclaimed fangirl myself, I jumped at the chance to review Sam Maggs’ guide.
This guide covers all the main aspects of fangirl life: the terminology, how to deal with life online, where to meet other fangirls. I loved how Sam’s voice comes through so clearly; she’s passionate about being a fangirl and wants to spread the joy!
As someone who spends a lot of time on Tumblr (like, a lot a lot) and online in general, I was pretty familiar with a lot of the websites and terms mentioned. So someone who’s been fully immersed in the fangirl life might not find this guide as useful as someone just starting out. That said, I enjoyed reading all the descriptions and everything because of the author’s writing style.
The parts I found most useful were the ones about conventions and badass lady recommendations. I’ve never been to a con, and a lot of the ones mentioned I hadn’t heard of before. It made me desperately want to go to all the places! My wallet shrieked in horror when I read about Artist Alley. I also hadn’t heard of a lot of the books/tv/etc. mentioned in the recommendation section and now I’m dying to get all the things! Basically start saving up now, people.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

The Fangirl’s Guide is a fun and informative book with a fresh voice and plenty of tips for every kind of fangirl.
3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs

Leave a Reply

